Midweek Fix: The Ex Files

The Ex Files

The truth is out there; I never cheated on you
But I’m lying if I say I’ve never been tempted to

Remember that night you called really late; and

I said I was staying over at Sam’s?
You see, that was one lie; I was with her
No not that ‘her’…I’m talking about the other…yeah…her
Ahn-ahn now, there’s not too many ‘hers’
So why are you already saying ‘ha’?
Look, I can stop talking now but I need you to know the truth,
My strange behavior lately? You need to know the root
Those nights with no credit, I would just scream your name
You said nothing’s changed; it just didn’t feel the same
Felt like I had gone from ‘the man’ to just being ‘a man’
So I found myself sniffing around plates I’d already ate
Running around with exs from morning till really late
I meant no harm; as usual, it was nothing,
We had managed to remain friends, no fronting
But we met again, and the sparks really flew,
That started me doubting what I feel for you
It’s was that initial ‘her’ that started it,
She with the straight dark hair and freaky hips
And then it began to move really fast; one after the other,
From the latest back to the first; in that order
Bimbo, the one with the largest ______s,
Comforted me, said I could put my heart to rest
Onye wanted to get it on again, no stress
Damn girl is married; and didn’t she call me ‘second best’?
Hauwa had the best head in all senses of the word,
Lips that seem to say ‘I know what you want; just come!’
And I couldn’t help but compare them to you,
I know; it’s not fair but what can I do?
Except try to make it right, and that’s too clear
The truth is out there, I think it needs to be in here
I want to believe we can still make it,
This is coming from my heart; I’m not trying to fake it
See, you know I have never cheated on you,
But I think I lied when I said that too

Picture courtesy 20th Century Fox
Picture courtesy 20th Century Fox

12 thoughts on “Midweek Fix: The Ex Files

  1. I’ve met so many people who are of the opinion that you never really get over an ex-, that the feelings never completely go away.

  2. Okay Seun,
    This is the last straw; We are soooo done!
    Get outta my life this minute! Scratch that… don’t get out till You read my Ex files; if you can get through page one of the graphic chronicles … ha ha ha!
    Seun, this is really Not bad for a fix. Nice

  3. Nneka, I think it depends on d kind of relationship you shared with the person.

    Ehn, ehn? Seun, I’m putting eveything down for you in a diary.

    Keep them coming.

  4. Wow! I can so relate to this piece. I had a very similar experience years back. Somehow, exes that we had since let go suddenly begin to appeal to us and sometimes, they come again on a platter of gold. May our insatiable nature not ruin us o!

Leave a comment