Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

A Minor Encounter

 

I was on a bus sometime ago, to watch Gal Gadot do her ‘Wonder Babe’ thing.

 

It was good day; rain fell earlier but it had stopped, leaving everywhere cool and mostly abandoned. I was sitting in front of the bus ferrying me to Yaba, listening to…I honestly don’t remember who I was listening to.

 

It was sha music, feel-good music.

 

I almost didn’t notice anything till the door beside me opened. That was when I realized we were at one bus stop like that. Before I could tell which; a pretty something shaped like a lady climbed into the bus and sat beside me.

 

I don’t talk to women I don’t know – usually. It’s a silent, unspoken rule I have – usually. So I was just going to admire her, do the usual ‘hmm and ha’ and mind my business –

 

UNTIL I SAW SHE WAS CARRYING A RIBENA BOTTLE.

 

Ladies and Gentleboys and Wobe Folk, have you heard the one about ‘good intentions’?

 

All thoughts of Gal Gadot and that leather skirt flew out of the driver’s window, along with the music – pretty much the bus sef. The only thing that still existed was me, her and that Ribena bottle.

 

Without thinking too much, I pulled my earphones off.

 

‘Excuse me. I just wanted to say that right up till you entered this bus, I always thought I was the only person above twenty who drank Ribena.”

 

She turned towards me, smiled blindingly and said, “Oh, don’t worry. You probably still are. You see, I just turned eighteen.”

 

EIGHTEEN.

 

Gentle people, I turned back to the windscreen and put my earphones back in. And allow me add; I did not look left or right till the bus arrived Sabo.

 

Yeah yeah. I know they say ‘age is nothing but a number, but it decides on what side of the numeric table you’re on. And frankly, who ‘minor’ epp na?

2 responses

  1. I can totally relate. They grow so big and shapely these days, don’t they?😁😁😁

    June 19, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

