Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Monday Motivation: Celebrate You.

 

I close my eyes and think of everyone I’ve lost this year.

 

As you should too.

 

Having done that, I am thankful for life. In no way am I better than ANYONE, in no way is anyone BETTER than me. I believe God brought me this far and kept me alive. An atheist may disagree – but that’s not why I’m here.

 

Whatever our belief systems and life structure(s), we made it this far.

 

You didn’t do a third of what you set out to do this year, right? Don’t feel bad, I didn’t either. But then, I’m sure you did a number of things you didn’t plan to do either! Yes? I did too!

 

And that’s amazing.

 

I started to keep a gratitude jar a while ago. For those of us who don’t know what that is, it’s just as the name implies – we keep things we’re thankful for in a jar. When I do something cool – like make a stranger smile – I write it on a piece of paper and keep it in the jar. Whenever I’m feeling down, blue, discouraged, worthless, I empty the jar and read through stuff and think ‘Hey, that was me! I did that!’

Do you have a gratitude jar? No, not a journal or diary. Those are for real life events – good or bad. This is for just the grateful stuff. I suggest you start to keep one – you can find the time if you really want to. And it is for and about you; and really, there shouldn’t be anything more important!

 

I know I am thankful for you; I have stuff like ‘I wrote a blog post today and so-and-so read it and commented’. That; the knowledge that I serve some purpose and mean something to someone I may or may not have met/will probably never meet – means plenty to me.

 

I celebrate you.

 

 

last-word

8 responses

  1. Wow! Gratitude Jar! I’m definitely doing this personally and on my next project. Thank you for this, Seun dearest.

    November 28, 2016 at 6:47 pm

  2. Thanks. i found me a new project.

    November 28, 2016 at 11:36 pm

  3. Gratitude Jar…wow….on it already

    Thank you for this Seun

    November 29, 2016 at 1:25 pm

    • You’re welcome, I’m sure. Thank you for reading!

      November 29, 2016 at 4:27 pm

  4. Herbehbih

    I hope it’s not too late to have one..

    February 15, 2017 at 7:41 pm

    • Never too late, bro. Thank you.

      February 15, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Leave a Reply

