Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Monday Motivation: Never Settle

 

Do you remember when you were six years old?

 

I don’t – well, for the most part. But I learned some pretty profound lessons around that age. That was the first moment I realized – something sweet can still hurt you.

 

Case In Point: DODO.

 

fried-plantain-18

 

I’m sure I had been eating by myself long before I was six (at least I think so) but the clearest episode of that happening is the one I’m about to tell you about.

 

I had this aunt, Alaba, a beautiful woman. I’m sure I had a crush on her and she was fond of me. That afternoon, our parents weren’t home so she was to make me lunch. She fried dodo which I loved (and still do) and gave me a plate. I think the idea was for me to carry it to the dinning room and wait for her.

 

It didn’t work out like that.

 

I mean, there I was staring at what I probably thought was the sweetest thing in the entire world, and you’re telling me to wait before I start eating?!

 

You and who; fest?

 

I just dipped my hand into the plate and took hold of a piece. I was conveying it to my mouth when my hand sent a signal to my brain that THIS THING IS HOT. I promptly flung the piece of dodo one way, the plate the other way and screamed.

 

I remember screaming.

 

Of course, my darling crush came running, petted me, blew on the hand, smacked the plantain for hurting her baby (what won’t adults do to placate children eh?) and reminded me that she’d said to wait. But I found most confusing was – how could something that tastes so nice have hurt me so much?

 

I think that was my first introduction to heartbreak.

 

Many of my childhood lessons stuck with me till now – and I like to think that’s the case for most of us. But one thing that goes out of  lot of us as we grow older….is that childhood curiosity. That desire to know more.

 

I remember watching Wonder Woman. I remember going outside after watching an episode with my friends and jumping up and down because; hey, if she can do it why can’t I? Never mind that I wasn’t a woman. Never mind that I am not anything close to an Amazon.

 

If she can do it, why can’t I?

 

All that ‘genetic mutation’ ‘Kryptonian DNA’ ‘mutant gene’ was too much an explanation for a kid. He looks like me – therefore if he can do it, so can I.

 

That’s all.

 

 

Who knows? Maybe if I had continued jumping then I would have created a way for people to jump over tall buildings in a single bound! Anything is possible, no?

 

But we grow older, and as we do our worldview becomes smaller. We desperately protect our ideas that hardened into crystals and therefore view any other perspective as a threat. As the Ancient One told Strange; ‘You’re a man who has spent his entire life looking through a keyhole’.

 

Very small perspective.

 

We should grow. We should be curios. No matter how much we think we know; we still don’t know as much as is possible to know about any one particular thing. I am probably the best authority on anything Seun Odukoya, and I still don’t know a third of what there is to know about me! There was a time curiosity was what got me out of bed in the morning. I was always looking forward to whatever new adventure there was in the day, what new trouble I was going to cause/get into, what new person I was going to meet.
Then caution overcame my eagerness. Somewhere along the lines, I started to think I knew enough; there was nothing new to see in the world. I withdrew into some kind of protective bubble and became only conscious of survival.

 

Well. We all know how that went.

 

But I don’t want to die. That is why I didn’t drive into the ocean yesterday on my way from work; even though I was tired and unhappy. This is why I agreed to undergo therapy and treatment for Major Depressive Disorder and a couple other things (insert laughter emoji). That is why I have started to walk again.

 

I. Don’t. Want. To. Die.

 

I am finding reason(s) to live again. Something to get me out of bed, eager and excited about the new day and the possibilities it brings. And I am not saying there won’t be days I’ll feel shitty and hate myself and wonder why I don’t just hold the boiling ring, plug it in and hope NEPA leaves power long enough for me to leave –

 

But those days will get fewer and farther between. Right now, I am curious as to how someone can bake a whole cake and not finish half of it before it’s done. Maybe that sounds like nothing – but it’s enough to get me till tomorrow.

 

Never stop. Never settle.

 

I think Hennessy said it first.

 

 

199c26c08f90beaf952e08591aeaaa2e

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 responses

  1. 👆👆. Never stop. Never settle. Seun Odukoya said it, in a new way.

    November 7, 2016 at 8:35 am

    • I’m honoured. Thank you for visiting!

      November 7, 2016 at 8:38 am

  2. zulaikhahxo

    Dodo has hurt me too ooo…. It was the worst form of backstabbing from the love of my life. This thing just splashed hot oil all over my hand. I’ll die with the scars. **sniffs**

    November 7, 2016 at 3:50 pm

    • Pele.

      Eyah.

      But we never settle, right?

      Thank you for visiting!

      November 7, 2016 at 5:57 pm

      • zulaikhahxo

        Lol never!

        November 7, 2016 at 8:38 pm

      • zulaikhahxo

        Never! Lol

        November 7, 2016 at 8:39 pm

  3. zulaikhahxo

    Ps. I screamed, rubbed cream and still ate the Dodo. My definition of never stopping and never settling.. Heheehehe

    November 7, 2016 at 3:52 pm

  4. This gave me the feels.
    First, because I love you. Lol. And your writing always has meaning.
    And also because I’ve been conflicted and bothered about a number of things the last few weeks. (Most of which you’re aware of)
    But thank you for this reminder. To stay curious, to keep pushing and to never settle.
    We don’t stop till we win 😉

    November 7, 2016 at 9:34 pm

    • I hope you didn’t cry.

      Of course you love me. You get choice?

      We will get thru it. And we will live.

      Even after we win, there’s still work to be done.

      Thank you.

      November 7, 2016 at 10:04 pm

      • El oh El. No, I didn’t bring down the waterworks. Hehehe. And yes, after we win, we’ll continue to work. Hugss

        November 7, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Leave a Reply

