Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Monday Motivation: Jay Z

 

jay-z-1a

 

These days I need a lift.

 

I find myself staggering between complete mental fatigue and an overdose of adrenaline. It’s a cycle that leaves me constantly burned out for days, no matter what I’ve been getting up to – and it’s so hard sometimes when I just want to get up too.

 

Music helps. A lot.

 

And I ‘met’ the man up there through his music – but I’ve become a fan of the man himself. There are so many lessons I’ve learned from him, so many thoughts on love, life, death, war, money, power, relationships, God – I could go on for a while.

 

There’s a line from one of his many songs where he says;

 

‘Hustle ’caine/hustle clothes/or hustle music/

Just hustle hard in any hustle/that you pick’

 

That line echoes in my head whenever I get tired or want to start something new and I’m unsure about it. And one thing – completely unrelated to the lyric, and yet which I learned from it is working hard is entirely different from working smart.

 

It’s one thing to be busy; it’s another thing entirely to be productive. I’ve had to learn to check myself, calm a lot of reckless impulse and instead, think things through before I lift a single finger.

 

I also know enough to know enough people who just sit all day planning and planning – and never do anything. The trick to navigate life, as I know for now, is to find balance. Between head and heart. Between hard work and smarts. Between flying and staying grounded.

 

And there are a lot of ways I find my way around this world – this almost meaningless existence. Education. Books, Conversation. Faith. Focus. Discipline. The Bible. The Quran. Prayer. God. Friends.

 

And sometimes, some Jay Z music helps.

 

How do you do yours?

2 responses

  1. For me, music helps.
    And people too.
    But sometimes, I just curl up in my bed and tell myself it’s okay to not do life that day.
    Thank you for writing this.
    And you know, whenever it gets rough, there’s Jay Z, but there’s also one geh with a big head who is only one text away.
    Hugs!

    October 17, 2016 at 10:25 pm

    • Doubt I can forget that.

      Thank you for reading.

      October 17, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Leave a Reply

