Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Bag Lady III – Me

“Where is my black purse, you man-snatching ashawo?”

Lola looked like a train trying to go in two directions at once; back out the door she just came through or towards the bed a few feet in front of her.

The bed won.

She knew how the Israelites felt; wading through the Red Sea – except the walls were not of water this time. They were made of Bisi’s eyes; staring tidal waves and thunderstorms at her.

She made it to the bed and collapsed on it, cool softness accepting her in spite of herself. “What purse?”

Bisi’s words were bullets shot point-blank into a bulletproof vest. “My black felt purse! The black –“

“Bisi, I didn’t take your purse. You know I’d tell you before I touch anything of yours –“

Really?! Like you told me before sleeping with Jude?!”

There it was, out in the open.

The burn of tears compelled Lola to close her eyes and she wished the bed would just swallow her whole.

“I didn’t sleep with him. We – I kissed him…I was drunk! I have hated myself since that night – done everything I could to make you forgive me…” Her voice disappeared with the suddenness of power failure.

“There are some things you can’t take back.” Bisi sounded like she had razor blades in her throat. “It doesn’t matter. I can’t find my purse. Who else could have taken it?”

“I didn’t take your purse.”

“Hey Bisi, you left this in my room…” Someone spoke from the door.

Both girls turned towards the voice. It was Bisi’s sister Dare, holding up a black felt purse.

12 responses

  1. Timayin

    Gbam!!!
    O shele!!!

    April 6, 2015 at 1:18 pm

  2. EOD

    lol, see gbege! onto explanations now

    April 6, 2015 at 8:32 pm

  3. See? Thank goodness the purse got missing sef! How else would she have had an opportunity to vent? In fact, I’m taking sides here…. how can you kiss my boyfriend “jes laik dat!”. Mba o! I no gree! The alcohol only gave you the boldness to do what you have been planning siiiiiince!

    *rubs hands mischievously * * talking to self* “Now that I’ve stoked the fire, please I want to see a cat fight! Oya, fight! Fight! Fight!

    Well done o, Egbon mi. But, when is the next episode na! Just assume tomorrow is Monday and post it, biko!

    April 6, 2015 at 10:51 pm

    • I love you too, aburo.

      Thank you so much!

      April 6, 2015 at 10:54 pm

  4. When trust is broken….

    April 8, 2015 at 10:04 am

  5. The preceding events means even if Bisi’s food got burnt, it was Lola that was the suspect.
    Lemme catch up on the next, since that’s what I’m kuku doing

    April 13, 2015 at 8:24 am

  6. Hellena Ajani

    Gbese!
    Lola tried it with Bisi’s boyfriend, doesn’t she know there is no coming back from that especially because THEY LIVE TOGETHER!
    I sense this ‘black purse’ episode is just the beginning for Lola; she better hold on tight.

    July 30, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Leave a Reply

