Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Anastasia: The Beginning

A little something for my new UNILAG friends. Thank you.

I got tired of being single

I got tired of being tired of being single

I got tired of being – ah, you know the picture,

No photoshop. No Flash. Non-Fiction

So I made my own creation;

Anastacia; I called her

You should see the looks of consternation;

I arouse every time I call her

Or rather; she calls me

Calls Me!

Spends hours with me on the phone,

talking;

Leave all those Moremi girls staring jealously

See Nike looking. Jealousy!

You know how girls are na

How they ignore you; leave you in your plight

And when someone else wants you; they see the light

Me? I carry shoulder and waka far!

“Where’s your girlfriend?” They’d ask,

“Somewhere in the UK,” I’d answer,

Suddenly I acquired fifty Facebook stalkers,

Hundreds of Twitter followers,

And even window eavesdroppers!

I knew it couldn’t last forever, so I choose Nkem;

“Anastasia broke my heart,” I said

“Ohh baby,” she sighed, cradling my head on a pair of cushions

This is heaven; I thought and surrendered my mumu buttons

It was fun for the next three months,

Nkem was most anything a man could want,

Till one Sunday in my room, me listening to Asa;

A knock on the door, “Who’s that?”

The answer came “Anastacia.”

I thought it was a joke till I remembered what Anastacia means…

22 responses

  1. Oluwatosin Adeshokan

    Bravo!! Amazing kini..

    October 5, 2014 at 5:10 pm

  2. Oh wow! Super!

    October 5, 2014 at 5:45 pm

  3. Lol.. good stuff .. Artificial Anastacia, nothing factual, mere facade

    October 5, 2014 at 5:50 pm

  4. anthony

    wow! I enjoyed the progression. Funny way to tell a story but i really liked the creativity behind it. I should try this sometime, well done.

    October 5, 2014 at 8:02 pm

  5. I had to go and check the meaning of Anastasia. Trouble dey sleep. LOL

    October 5, 2014 at 8:55 pm

  6. Oh, wow! Very very cool.

    October 5, 2014 at 10:58 pm

  7. Ah!
    Ana-wetin?

    October 6, 2014 at 1:37 am

  8. Truth Talker

    Shoot, just hd to google the meaning, dats scary mehn… Lovely piece…

    October 6, 2014 at 6:17 am

  9. 😍beautiful😘

    October 6, 2014 at 6:29 am

  10. Anastasia….resurrected….reborn.
    Is she an apparition or is she really real?

    My egbon has given us another beautiful mystery….nice one.

    October 6, 2014 at 8:24 am

  11. I had to check the meaning of Anastasia ! 😉
    Really enjoyed this piece.
    Thank you so much.

    October 6, 2014 at 8:40 am

    • Hehehe.

      You’re welcome.

      Thank you too.

      October 6, 2014 at 10:49 am

Leave a Reply

