Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Time X

 

Im starting 2 feel lyk a pest. I dnt knw y Im so worried. I knw ur ok. Call me pls.

 

Ok. Im drivin to ur house nw. I rilly nid 2 c u. R u ok!

 

Ur sister says ur nt in Lagos y dnt u tell me. And u left her alone. Im staying wit her.

 

Chris looked at the screen of the phone without really seeing it, mumbling the words to himself like a strange mantra. This Agnes wasn’t the one he’d known – wasn’t the Agnes he had dated, the one that had nearly driven him out of his mind. This Agnes was…

 

Waist creaking like the crank-arm of an old out-of-use generator, Chris walked to the refrigerator and took out the lone Stout bottle. He would need a refil soon enough – but he needed to clear his head.

 

A smile creased his sore lips at that thought. A drink to clear his head. Indeed.

 

But thinking about the past few days were hard. He knocked back a gulp of the icy Stout and winced as the frigid liquid seared his throat. And then it hit his belly – and a pleasant feeling unfurled in his limbs. Yes. So necessary.

 

His mind focused on Temi for a moment; bringing an unsavory taste to his mental buds – and he discarded the thought quickly. I’ll figure that one out when I need to; he thought.

 

But where does Agnes feature in this picture?

 

What does she want?

 

The vibrating motions of something in his right hand startled him – and he almost flung the BB away in fright. He smiled self-consciously and looked at the phone screen – and the smile slowly disappeared.

 

“Chris – ”

“Agnes…this is irritating. Why don’t you just tell me – what do you want?!”

“Oh Chris – ” her voice faltered. “You know, I’ve just been thinking…there are so many things I should have talked to you about…”

“And you want to talk – NOW?!” he could feel the familiar trembling begin in his hand, and he closed his fist around the Stout bottle. Lord help me.

“We don’t always know what to do, baby. I don’t…I didn’t have it all figured out.”

He sighed. “And you do now?”

“I think so…or at least I know more now than I did when we were together…”

“Agnes…what are you saying?”

“Come home, Chris. Rachel has been crying since – and me; well…I miss you.”

“You what?”

Her chuckle stirred something in his chest. “Come home, Chris.”

 

The connection ended.

 

A few minutes later, Chris had packed his bags and was heading to the bathroom before he realized he had done anything.

 

What am I doing?

18 responses

  1. Riveting. Earlier I thought Temi’s sudden transformation was less than convincing. Now it’s Agnes?
    What does “Her chuckled stirred” mean?

    September 29, 2014 at 8:18 am

    • Hmm. Who knows what lurks in the hearts of women?

      Typo! Thank you!

      September 29, 2014 at 8:21 am

  2. Yemi

    I can’t seems to understand Agnes talk less of Temi. And even Chris he sort of seems confused. Anyway my hands are crossed, waiting to see the end of all this drama. Nice one Seun

    September 29, 2014 at 8:31 am

  3. Hmmm. Chris. Hmmm.
    Good luck.

    September 29, 2014 at 8:49 am

  4. villebilingue

    Suspense is unhealthy! I love this piece

    September 29, 2014 at 10:00 am

  5. Chris…oh Chris…

    September 30, 2014 at 9:00 am

    • Tope…oh Tope…

      Wait what?! What are you guys doing moaning each other’s names?!

      Heh. Thank you.

      September 30, 2014 at 9:15 am

  6. Still trying to comprehend this stuff…

    September 30, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    • Hehehehe!

      Have you been following from the beginning?

      Thank you!

      September 30, 2014 at 2:11 pm

  7. Triangle here…Chris, Agnes, Temi

    September 30, 2014 at 2:18 pm

    • As in…!

      Thank you.

      September 30, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    • It’s a square o, Oscarpoems.
      Are we forgetting the Lady in Red?
      That babe is still going to shock us. I’m sure.

      September 30, 2014 at 3:13 pm

      • Well…

        Thank you.

        September 30, 2014 at 3:43 pm

  8. So dis is a new series. I will have to start from one to understand.

    September 30, 2014 at 2:31 pm

  9. Now I understand after going thru the series from 1 to 10

    September 30, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

