Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Swift Scribbles: By The Way Past

 

So we sit in that small but clean bukka; her eating, me watching her eat.

 

She eats like she enjoys what she’s eating – and from what I know of mama’s cooking, she must enjoy it. The food is international.

 

Her cute little pink tongue darts out, licking off a small dot of egusi lingering on one corner of her mouth. She realizes I’m staring at her – and shyly averts her eyes. I grin.

 

“You’re lovely,” I say.

 

She straightens – morsel of garri in her hand forgotten for the moment. She places her other hand in mine – her eyes never leaving mine for even a moment; and then she speaks.

 

“You know, I really like that you tell me that a lot. I hope you never get tired of saying it, because I doubt I’ll ever get tired of hearing it.”

 

For a moment, my heart rate soars. That old familiar fear rears its head.

 

But I swallow it down and hold her hand. This is good enough; I say to me.

 

This just has to be.

3 responses

  1. Giving compliments is one sure way of showing love and affection….we should never tire to tell the people we love how much we love them….

    September 5, 2014 at 8:54 am

  2. Awww!
    Much soppiness.
    I hope you never stop telling her.
    Na there wahala dey start.
    Well done!

    September 5, 2014 at 11:41 am

Leave a Reply

