Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Je. Ka. Lo.

I know you’ve been hurt;

I know you’ve done your share too; ehen? So what?

You know what?

Ikoko ni mi ti nba gbo ohun e; soro!

Tell me how you feel; tell me what you want,

Tell what your fears are; tell me what sucks

No; I’m not talking sex – I can wait, no rush

Afi ti o oba fe duro den GONGO ASO!

I know I snore; can we call that music?

I’m not what you’re used to; learn me.

I’m in school too; you 101 is the topic

It’s hard; no doubt – but I mean to pass

Ma a we; ma a yan kankan dandan!

Make space for me; in your life

Make space for me.

I know it’s hard; after all no be hard drive,

Sugbon; mo ni isuru walai!

I’m impatient – but I can learn that

I want you happy; for that I bend back

Farther back; than I ever thought I could

Omo – ma sunkun mo; ile ti mo!

Mo mo;

I mean I know.

Fears. What if it happens again?

What if it doesn’t? What if it works?

Ololufe, ma je a ja.

Mi o fe mo ibi to tin nbo;

Ibo lon lo?

She mo le mu e lowo

She mo le mu e dani?

Ma worri

No hurry

Je ka ma lo sose…

16 responses

  1. Wow. This. I’ll return with a coherent comment soon. Phew.

    August 28, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    • See why I need a Yoruba dictionary? I’m lost.
      Sigh.
      Please help me interpret, biko.

      August 28, 2014 at 6:13 pm

      • Chill, dear. Thanks.

        August 28, 2014 at 10:39 pm

      • And Nneka, I was planning to ask you to translate, oh.

        August 29, 2014 at 2:32 am

      • Na Nneka write am?

        *whistles All Of Me while eating fish peppersoup*

        August 29, 2014 at 3:03 am

      • Ah! I’m still hunting for a Yoruba dictionary, o.

        September 2, 2014 at 11:28 pm

    • Waiting o.

      August 28, 2014 at 10:39 pm

  2. Yemie

    Aw! This is really ‘schweet’! This code mixing and switching though, hilarious! Seun, your written Yoruba needs a lot of brushing up I swear! LMAO!

    August 28, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    • Please…show me how to brush up.

      Thanks.

      August 28, 2014 at 10:41 pm

  3. Mo gba dun eleyi pupo!

    August 28, 2014 at 7:16 pm

  4. Walahi, your yoruba sucks…i swear! you are too oyibonized…
    I love the concept! You pulled it off..save for the murder of my mother tongue…lol
    You have a great yoruba tutor in one of your ardent fans, Yemie. See her for lessons…
    Well done sir…always breaking new bounds.. .

    August 28, 2014 at 10:35 pm

  5. Hey, you guys should leave Seun and his Yoruba, now. I’m certain the she for whom it was written likes it like this. Me, I love it!

    August 29, 2014 at 2:31 am

  6. Seun, you are a romantic.

    This poem had me grinning like a Cheshire. Cat especially the Yoruba part

    August 31, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Leave a Reply

