Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Time II

 

 

Chris sighed deep within as he walked down the hall towards Temi’s office. That; he reflected, had been a really unsmart thing to do.

 

Thing was; she rubbed him off the wrong way and he did not feel a need to disguise it. Still – she was his superior and she did her job well.

 

Sigh. Too late now for sober reflecting.

 

He stopped in front of her door, moved his shoulders, settling the dark blazer before tapping on the door with the tips of his fingers. She mumbled what he assumed was a ‘come in’ and he pushed the door open.

 

She was still wearing the jacket, sitting behind her desk like a head mistress, head and shoulders stiff, back straight and forward. He resisted the urge to laugh and took the seat she indicated with a wave of her hand. She removed her glasses and smiled at him.

 

“There’s a problem Chris. I’d rather not think you’re the problem – I prefer to believe you have a problem. I have a choice to make here – I could give you a query, ask you to fill and then send you home on suspension, or I could just send you home for rest. Honestly, I would rather you went home and never came back – but the truth is you do an exceptional job and I shouldn’t allow personal conflicts get in the way of that.” She paused. “Or should I allow it, Chris?”

 

His eyes were fixed on the corner of her mouth. Her lips were thin but wet, somehow they contrived to look appealing in spite of their thinness. He wondered idly what it would be like to kiss her – and then wondered if she’d ever been kissed.

 

“I shouldn’t have spoken to you like that. It’s just…” He stopped. “Yes…I think I should go home for a bit.”

 

Temi nodded. “And it is safe to assume you would have fixed whatever problem you’re having now by then?”

 

“Yeah – definitely. I cannot stay away too long.”

 

She nodded again and waved him away. He thought about apologizing – but he meant what he’d said to Agnes. Temi did not seem like the typical weak woman; she gave as good as she got and she was freaking smart. He just wished she was a bit more…you know; feminine.

 

Like Agnes. A whole lot of good that had done him.

 

“Hey um, I apologize. And thanks.”

 

She frowned at him. “I don’t like you, Chris. You’re annoying and arrogant, and a bit too full of yourself. Save your apologies for some other day.”

 

He bit the retort that rose to his mouth and walked out of her office.

 

I deserved that; he admitted, footsteps in the abandoned corridor echoing as hollowly as his heartbeats in his ears.

 

 

12 responses

  1. The guy has guts! Imagine!

    August 4, 2014 at 11:19 am

  2. I like the woman…

    August 4, 2014 at 4:38 pm

  3. Yemie

    ‘I deserved that’, he soliloquized. Who woulda thought that the one who spews a lotta arsenic and venomous trash ’bout women was so capable of a sober reflection?! I’d be damned! Temi’s professionalism personified! Got mad love and respect for her! As for that sexist chauvinistic pig, he may as well just take a flying leap into thin air and oblivion like abracadabra! Foul-mouthed Lout! LMAO!

    This is me pulling a ‘Seun’ on you, ‘Thank You’! Enjoyed reading, beautifully concocted! LOOL

    August 4, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    • A ‘Seun’?!

      What does that even mean?!

      Well. Thank you!

      August 4, 2014 at 6:10 pm

  4. “There’s a problem Chris. I’d rather not think you’re the problem – I prefer to believe you have a problem” This sounds funny….. Nice piece.

    Kindly read : The Amazing Gifts in You http://wp.me/p1WSw3-94

    August 4, 2014 at 6:47 pm

  5. obviously love is in the air.

    August 8, 2014 at 1:55 pm

  6. You won’t catch me unawares this time. I know where this is heading. I’m not saying nothing though. I’ll just be sipping my tea like its none of my business. LOL

    August 11, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    • Indeed.

      So how are we to know if really you know?

      Hehehe. Thanks!

      August 12, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

