Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Swift Scribbles: Romance She Wrote VI

There’s this thing she does.

 

When we eat together – or whenever I’m eating something she made, she takes the first dip from the food and eats it, and then puts the second dip in my mouth. Depending on how she’s feeling, she might continue to feed me or she might just allow me continue to eat myself.

 

I like it either way.

 

She’s spreading the pasta, smearing sauce that smells just right in the middle of it. She serves food like that, meal in one plate, complimenting sauce in another, toppings; meat and suchlike in yet another. Me, I just dump the whole thing in one plate – whether eba or rice or whatever.

 

Won’t it mix in the belly?

 

Still – she likes to do it and I like watching her do it. She takes her time as always, dressing the food as though it is something other than a regular meal. Twirling the fork deep in the pasta, she lifts a huge clump of it and dumps it in her mouth – and then chews…I mean masticates energetically.

 

I laugh. She laughs too – and we both are laughing.

 

I hope she doesn’t choke.

 

She swallows calmly and looks at me, spearing yet another clump of pasta and holding it towards me. I open my mouth and close my eyes – and then she speaks.

 

“Be careful, babe. It’s still hot.”

 

I open my eyes, stare deep into hers and receive the food with my tongue. It tastes just like it smells – just right.

 

I chew carefully – but then there’s a look in her eyes that captures my attention. It’s a look of utter vulnerability – a completely defenceless look into her heart. I see everything clearly – what she’s said and what she hasn’t said. She holds my gaze for a moment – before smiling shyly and lowering her head.

 

There’s a car racing somewhere close to me – it takes me a moment to realize it’s my pulse. Steadily, I reach for her hand, take the fork out of it with the other hand and hold hers in both of mine.

 

I clear my throat.

 

“There’s something I’ve been meaning to ask you…”

 

“Yes?” she answers, eyes saying she’s nervous but trusts me anyway. Her hand is warm; welcoming.

 

“Will you go out with me?”

 

I surprise even myself. I see the shock unfurl on her face – before she starts to smile warily. I mean, I could do worse, right?

 

Right?

14 responses

  1. bshaba

    So, with all the lingerie giving, diary reading, pasta eating & babe calling, you never ask her out before? Na wa o.
    It’s good to have this series back, I fear for their relationship though. I think she might emasculate him & he will flee eventually.

    Good to have you back bro. Fingers crossed for more.

    August 1, 2014 at 7:51 am

    • Thank you much.

      Abi o?! We here now.

      August 1, 2014 at 12:23 pm

  2. Finally!
    Why is she shocked? Isn’t that what she wants?

    August 1, 2014 at 7:53 am

  3. anthony ibe

    wait o! He hadn’t asked her out yet and she allowed him into her most private thoughts? *Drops phone and shouts “BABE! Where’s that your diary, i’m reading it today”

    August 1, 2014 at 10:50 am

    • Hehehehe!

      You are on your own sire!

      Thanks.

      August 1, 2014 at 12:24 pm

  4. Lovely one yet again. I love the build-up…
    Salute

    August 1, 2014 at 11:41 am

  5. Like Seriously?? He’s just asking her out?? Nawa oo
    So how come I can’t hear her loud yes na…
    Nothing must go wrong with them abeg. Seun, you hear??
    Good to have you back!!

    August 1, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  6. looks like she got him where she wanted

    August 1, 2014 at 10:58 pm

  7. Yemie

    And that’s how the tables are turned and the hunter becomes the hunted or better still, the ‘chykee’ becomes the ‘chyker’! Whatever that means! Smooth! Lolz.

    Keep bringing it Seun, kudos!

    August 3, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Leave a Reply

