Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

The Weatherman

 

The Weatherman

 

 

They say my love’s like the weather

On that we agree;

The only difference might be how we approach the weather thing

 

 

 

I’m sure they mean I’m inconsistent

I think they’re confused

Who makes the rules?

And where’s the fun if just one type of weather

Is permanent?

 

 

 

My love’s like the weather; look at it like this,

I make the sun shine over you with ease

Help you shine, glow, help you perfect

The best parts of you unmastered yet

 

 

 

Keep you warm, keep you safe and intact

Guide you wherever you wanna go – in fact,

Put that bounce in your step, help you work up a sweat

At the right time in the right place(s), no sweat

 

 

Prepare and refresh you so not a lot can stress you,

Put the water on the laundry, even dry them out for you

But I know when to ease off so the heat won’t test you

I know the exact time to bring the rain in, boo

 

 

 

Those days you need an excuse to stay indoors,

I’ll provide you with them lazy kind of thunderstorms

Keep you under the blankets, imaginations not far-fetched

Be chill; your patience I won’t stretch

 

 

 

With a few snap of my fingers, get you wet

Wanna play stripper? I can make it rain as needed,

Things remain cool – and not to sound conceited

But I’m the silver lining the dark clouds brought in

 

 

 

There’s never a dry moment; even in harmattan

The only thing chapping those lips will be my kisses

Put balm on your back, I got a master-plan,

Rub lotion in your feet, just make those wishes

 

 

 

See? I make loving me kinda too easy

Too much sun? I’ll bring the rain in with a flourish

Say my love’s like the weather – I say and then some!

‘Cause that simply means something good’s always going on.

 

 

Yours,

The Weatherman.

10 responses

  1. mwah! this is too much….
    my oga, the romance guru!

    July 2, 2014 at 8:09 am

  2. Interesting promises, these.

    July 2, 2014 at 8:28 am

  3. Nice.!! I like the weatherman. Lol.

    July 2, 2014 at 2:19 pm

  4. Gloria A

    Wow!!! This piece is phenomenal…..

    July 2, 2014 at 9:56 pm

  5. So…rain or shine, the weatherman is always available. Good one

    July 5, 2014 at 5:07 am

  6. Am not one for poems, but I totally luff this. Thanks Seun. FAVOUR

    July 8, 2014 at 6:13 am

Leave a Reply

