Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Love. Period.

 

LOVE. PERIOD.

Hey love; hey heart.

 

 

 

It’s been a while

I know; it has been a while

These days I have so little to do with your smiles

Plenty noise outside; can we stay inside?

Don’t be afraid; nothing’s changed

It’s just been a while.

 

 

 

Could you sit over there; let me fix you a drink

I like the way your eyes soften every time you blink

Here’s your drink; do you like how I rub your feet?

Just relax, stay a while; what do you think?

 

 

 

 

I want to ask questions

Questions to clear my impressions

Clarification to guide my reflections

Reflections to learn from;

Learn from and give you, perfection

 

 

 

 

I’ve been distracted lately; that’s no lie

Been busy too – so much on my mind

But you’re the best distraction, occupying much space

Between my eyes, my chest – yeah all that you take

 

 

 

 

“Why do I matter so much?” you ask,

 

 

 

 

Why do you matter so much? Jamb kweshun!

We never had much time from the start

But how long does it take to light a spark?

To recognize beauty? You’re the muse to my art!

 

 

 

I remember;

 

 

 

My first sight of you; smiling from ear to ear

The smell of the air around you; sunlight in your hair

Look; will you come over here or should I come down there?

Oh! I so love having you near

 

 

 

I love you. Period.

 

 

 

What; you didn’t know?

I believe in actions; words are too lazy a show

But I am speaking now; so listen close

To the first in a series; your weekly dose

 

 

 

 

I love you here, I love you there

I love you far, I love you near

I love you drunk, love you sober

Love you under, still love you over

 

 

 

 

Love you in Zaria, love you in Kaduna

Love you in Jos, Sokoto and Abuja,

Love you in Lagos; the centre of everything

I love you my joy, my heart, my peace

 

 

 

 

I love you from Benin – all the way to Warri,

I love you in Anambra, Port-Harcourt, Calabar

Down to Cross Rivers, I’ll cross rivers all across rivers

Love you so close the warmth will make you shiver

 

 

 

I love you in Kenya, in South Africa

Love you in Ghana, Dubai, Madagascar

Love you in the UK, the South of France,

Yeah, from the top of the Eiffel Tower I’ll declare my stance

 

 

 

Love you from Chicago all the way to Houston,

Love you always like the early days of Bobby and Whitney Houston

Love you obviously like the rhymes in this poem

Love you quietly; subtly like the truth in my fiction

 

 

 

 

 

I love you on a shuttle to the moon and back,

Love you on the bus or a camel’s back

Love you on the BRT or an okada

Love drinking garri or eating dodo and rice; ofada

 

 

 

I love you. Period.

 

 

 

 

And somehow; I forgot to tell you that

Maybe ‘cos you’re not here and that’s a fact

Your voice in my ear; the sound of your heart

Your tongue when we kiss; how can I forget that?

 

 

 

 

But I love you.

In Togo or Timbuktu.

 

 

 

And the din from the world outside can be deafening,

Facebook, Twitter, millions and millions of data

BBM, 2go, Whatsapp and all that chatter

It’s too easy to forget what truly matters

 

 

 

Well then. Here we are.

 

 

 

 

So I switch everything off and think of you

The day becomes sunny and the night so blue

Write you a kiss to take everything from good to better

An outline of my heart within words of a love letter

 

 

 

 

I love you. Point blank period.

 

 

 

Through missing girls, bomb blasts and Nigeria’s uncertainty

This I’m certain of.

 

 

 

 

 

I just need to know if you’re feeling me.

Are you feeling me, love?

 

 

 

Period.

 

 

****************************************************************

Excerpt from “Me. A Story Of Love In Rhyme”.

 

20 responses

  1. Gloria A

    Beautiful piece!!! 🙂

    May 28, 2014 at 11:41 am

  2. Cool stuff! Love stuff. Great! I love the way i read what you wrote. ☺️☺️😊

    May 28, 2014 at 1:00 pm

  3. Gloire

    Mm-hmm. Right here, people:

    “To the first in a series; your weekly dose…
    Love you quietly; subtly like the truth in my
    fiction…”

    May 28, 2014 at 1:12 pm

  4. Gloire

    Mm-hmm. Right here, people. These stood out:

    “To the first in a series; your weekly dose…
    Love you quietly; subtly like the truth in my
    fiction…”

    May 28, 2014 at 1:18 pm

  5. this is nice..real nice

    May 29, 2014 at 1:10 am

  6. Gloire

    Mm-hmm. Right here pple, pure awesomeness:
    “…To the first in a series; your weekly dose…
    Love you quietly; subtly like the truth in my
    fiction…”

    May 29, 2014 at 6:15 am

  7. Beautiful!!!

    May 29, 2014 at 7:56 am

  8. I feel you period! Nice piece…

    May 29, 2014 at 8:03 am

  9. I saw Zaria and waited with bated breath for Houston.
    So beautiful. I wanted to get to the end as quickly as possible but I didn’t want it to end.
    And my favorite line? “So I switch everything off and think of you”.
    I’m going to read it again.

    June 4, 2014 at 4:11 am

    • Pleased as punch that you like it.

      Thank you!

      June 4, 2014 at 11:01 am

  10. blown away completely…I love you here, I love you there, I love you under and I love you over…through missing girls, I love you period. oh please!

    June 4, 2014 at 11:59 am

  11. Reminds me of secondary school love letters. The rhymes shook in some places but I still give it to you because the poem is long.
    I wish you didn’t put that ‘Jamb kweshun’.

    “…so listen close. To the first in a series; your weekly dose”

    “Your tongue when we kiss; how can I forget that?”

    June 4, 2014 at 3:29 pm

  12. IR

    I like the fact that you put “jamb kweshun”. that’s what makes your writing unique: you bring it home, we relate. well done!

    June 4, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

