Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Swift Scribbles: Romance She Wrote I

 

 

Her hand writing flows across the pages; kinda like Italics when you do that CTRL+I trick on your keyboard. I see another sign that she truly has beautiful hands.

 

 

But she wants me to read her journal – specifically; some pages she has opened for me.

 

 

Intrigued, I begin to read.

 

 

 

Hmmm – dinner date with the ex. I don’t know what to wear and I honestly wish I wasn’t feeling so nervous. Turns out he can still see thru me after all. Hateful little man…

 

 

 

“No! Please don’t read that,” she says, giggling in embarrassment.

 

 

A bright red fingernail traces down the page and taps a spot emphatically.

 

 

“Start from here,” she says.

 

 

 

My client finally decided to give Mina the account. I’m so happy for her. She wants to take me out to celebrate. It would give us a chance to catch up, it has been too long.

 

 

I’ve missed her a lot. As we talk through dinner, I realize there’s something else on her mind, something she’s not telling me. Man troubles?

 

 

Turns out I am right, not just in the way I expect. There’s this guy at her office who she thinks will interest me. I don’t exactly find that flattering, not immediately. She’s trying to hook me up with her creative team head. Do I look like I need to be match-made?

 

 

Mina calms me down. She’s always known how to do that, no wonder they called her my sister on campus even though I am older. She tells me about this guy and how he is quiet and…’somehow’ is the word she used. Somehow?

 

 

I am curious in spite of myself. I have not known Mina to be someone who does hook-ups as a trade, neither have I known her to waste her time with some kind of men, the kind that seems to about nowadays. She’s a girl who has a straight head screwed on correctly.

 

 

How does she know he’s single? Damn girl says of course she knows, he works for her and winks at me. Can you imagine?

 

 

I’m a bit afraid. It didn’t go so well last time and I seem to be enjoying my own space a lot lately. I have been getting to do stuff for myself, things a wrong relationship would get in the way of. I am scared.

 

 

Mina hugs me suddenly. She does that sometimes but never at random. She just seems to know when I need one of those. She tells me not to worry; that he will be coming with her to the signing of the agreement and stuff, and I’ll get to meet him

 

 

I have to turn the page here.

4 responses

  1. You’ve been Friendzoned?! Fine one!
    (It’s a good thing though)

    (This is a continuation, right?)

    May 20, 2014 at 12:19 pm

  2. When a girl gives you her journal to read, then it means she likes you. She wants you to understand her world and maybe somehow be a part of it through reading. I can really relate with your character. Lovely story.

    June 25, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    • Thank you Dunni.

      You’re right. Journals are private.

      June 25, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Leave a Reply

