Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

My Writing Process Blog Tour

Sigh.

So I was tagged in this tour by my friend Iweka Kingsley – published author who blogs here.

 

And I; in all sincerity, don’t know whether to thank him or shank him.

 

But it’s been done – and I am grateful.

 

Let’s go.

 

I’m supposed to answer four questions that shed some light on my process – how I come up with the stuff I do. And after that, I am to tag three other fantastic guys too – and they tag three other folks…

 

Until the world stops.

 

Before we go in; I do need to remind you that the greatest gift God gave me is the ability to scam people into think I can actually write. Don’t be angry.

 

So. Here We Go.

 

 

 

1) WHAT AM I WORKING ON?

 

 

Several things actually.

 

I just concluded a series; Saving Dapo on my blog. It is a huge success.

 

Planning the release of my first full-length novel for sometime in 2014. It’s romance; ‘Rain’ is the working title.

 

I am almost done with two short story collections – one is some sort of satire and the other is the proposed sequel to For Days and A Night; my first book.

 

Also working on a poetry collection – a chapbook; so to speak.

 

And several other things I am not at liberty to discuss at the moment *winks*.

2) HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS OF ITS GENRE?

 

I don’t think I’m the best person to answer that – I just sit in front of a computer and the words decide where they want to go at that moment.

 

I think my supporters; the readers are best positioned to respond to that.

3) WHY DO I WRITE WHAT I DO?

 

 

What makes you think I have a choice?

 

4) HOW DOES MY WRITING PROCESS WORK?
First thing is the understanding that a writer waiting for inspiration before writing is like a farmer waiting for rain before planting.

 

They’re both on a long thing.
I really don’t have a process – except I’m writing on a specific subject; maybe an article or so. In that case I read everything available on that subject, read and read, make idle notes while I read and then stew over it for a few – could be hours, could be days or even months.

 

And then I just plunge in.

 

 

In the case of storytelling, I don’t have a process. I think the story comes to me and I put it down in the way it comes. The story dictates EVERYTHING. I let it have its way.

 

Now – time to tag three fantastico writers:

 

 

Ogechi Nwobia is a writer, a blogger and a self-confessed talkaholic. She is people-oriented and fun to hang with. She blogs at

 

Ogundare Tope

 

Ogundare Tope is a lover of books, nature and ‎music. A jack of all trades dabbling into creative writing, poetry, photography, song writing and composition, none of which he is good at but has fun doing! He blogs at: www.zaphnathpanneah05.wordpress.com

 

 

 

Nneka

 

Nneka Ezealor-Oladimeji is a stay-at-home mom of two who loves to play with words. She writes short stories and the occasional poem. She blogs here.

 

Do visit these amazing guys, follow them, commend them, stalk them…

 

You’ll be glad you did!

 

Again; shoutout to Iweka Kingsley ‘Scopeman’, author of Dappled Things.

 

Thanks, man.

15 responses

  1. Self confessed talkaholic. Haha.
    Fun to hang with? Gee! Thanks Seun. Kind words, I totally appreciate. Cheers

    May 13, 2014 at 8:20 pm

  2. Okay… I really am speechless…thanks!

    May 13, 2014 at 8:42 pm

  3. First off, Oge’s smile is infectious. Had me smiling too. Talkaholic? Me like!
    Tope looks like a mischievous brother who gets me punished and goes scot free because of his “innocent” looks.
    Wait o! Na me be that? Chei! See fine geh! But Seun forgot to tell you all the best part. My name is Nneka and I’m an addict. Addicted to dodo (fried plantain), that is.
    Now, let me say why I think Seun’s work differs from others of its genre. It differs because it is alive. Seun’s stories have real characters – – I’m in his story, you are there, my ex- is there, my boss, neighbours, haters, lovers……They all come alive here. And somehow, his stories help us understand these people better and in so doing we also find ourselves.
    Thank you, brother. Thank you!

    May 14, 2014 at 12:27 am

    • Aw. Em.

      Wow. Thank you plenty, aburo.

      Thank you.

      May 14, 2014 at 1:54 am

    • wow…we share an addiction…okay, mine is not an addiction, not yet.
      and yes, you are so spot on! Tope gets away with a lot of things….that ‘innocent’ look is just irresistible…
      you described seun’s writing to a tee…nice!

      May 16, 2014 at 12:01 am

    • Awww! My smile is infectious? *blush blush* And yes, I am a talkaholic 😀
      Thank u!

      May 20, 2014 at 5:46 pm

      • Dey dia.

        Shouldn’t your post have gone up today?

        May 20, 2014 at 6:57 pm

  4. Tope, thank you. Ehen! I knew it! That innocent look, abi? Meanwhile, dodo is the food of the gods. Believe me!

    May 16, 2014 at 2:11 am

  5. I geddit now!

    May 22, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    • Em…what do you get, sire?

      Thanks!

      May 22, 2014 at 4:41 pm

      • The blog tour ish. Oge told me to come here and read to understand it. lol. I totally didn’t get it before.

        May 23, 2014 at 6:45 am

  6. Errm, Uncle Seun, It should have o. But it’ll go up first thing tomorrow morning. Pardon me please. Wayy too many things have been getting in the way. You’ll understand better when we see.
    Again, my apologies

    May 27, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

