Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

For The Fools

 

Only fools fall in love;

Fools; fools all for love

 

This one is for the fools; braveheart idiots

Who contribute too much to this world’s spoil and rot

Who give away their hearts; without a thought

Fools; dying for whiskey and rotgut

 

Fools! All ye fools!

They call you lovers; I call you stupid!

Stars in their eyes; butterflies in their stomach

Those butterflies will soon turn to starch

 

She smiled at you and the sun came out;

Mumu! Maga! Nonsense pouring out of your mouth

You see stars in her eyes; my guy you’re seeing things!

Soon to break your heart – e go do you like film!

 

Fools!

I was once stupid like you

Found a girl; told her ‘I want to wife you’

She said, “I can’t lie, I kinda like you”

She chop my money finish! I nearly kpai too!

 

See them! What is happily ever after?

He’ll cheat on you! Wait till it’s dark; natural or by NEPA

Sneak up on him; hug him – he’ll call you Sandra,

“But my name is Titi,” He’ll say “I meant sugar!”

 

What is love? Nothing but foolishness!

Nobody will protect me, I have to do it myself!

Walk this earth alone; we’re all selfish; yes?

 

Fools!

Their faces change like the weather,

One moment all smiles, the next they’re looking bitter,

“I’ll never love again!” Odensin! Maga!

Abegi! Save your waterworks for the plumber

 

My face is constant, I’m never smiling

Don’t get it twisted though – I’m really happy

Who needs love when they have ambition?

Bleeding hearts provide a meal that is crappy

 

So what if I’m alone? I’m doing quite fine!

Besides; alone/lonely are all states of mind!

Rich vocabulary; my mind is alive

So what if they write on my grave; “he just lived and died”?

Who cares?!

 

 

 

Happy April Fool’s Day.

 

13 responses

  1. And the fool is??? (The reader, for forgetting today’s date?!)

    April 1, 2014 at 10:44 am

    • The reader ke?!

      If there’s any to be found, it’s the guy speaking.

      Thank you.

      April 1, 2014 at 6:22 pm

  2. wow…this guy must be bitter! stung so many times undoubtedly…
    Love is a beautiful thing man…
    lovely poem
    happy new month
    this got me reeling “Those butterflies will soon turn to starch”

    April 1, 2014 at 9:08 pm

  3. Now why am I smiling like a fool? Because I totally agree. Love is foolish. We do foolish things for love. Why else do you think I tattoed his name on my wrist, only to wake up one day loving another.? But then, it is in the foolishness of loving that I find wisdom for living. This is beautiful poetry, Seun. You took me back to my love-letter writing days. Thank you.

    April 1, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    • Thank you so much!

      So I did, did I?

      Schweet!

      April 1, 2014 at 10:42 pm

  4. droplet4

    I

    April 2, 2014 at 5:30 am

  5. droplet4

    I am a full fool 😒

    April 2, 2014 at 5:32 am

  6. I was like that guy speaking until love snuck up on me when I wasn’t looking. where I wasn’t watching. Everybody will eventually be a fool whether we like it or not. Love isn’t something we can control or rationalize or even choose. we find it in the strangest of places, it creeps up on us when we aren’t looking. Forever the incurable romantic

    April 3, 2014 at 9:29 am

    • That’s what it is!

      Thank you for taking the time. Thanks.

      The very best to you.

      April 3, 2014 at 9:31 am

  7. Taiwo

    As a friend of mine would say, o ti ya were. o lo n love up abi? This is good Seun, it sure reminds me of things we do for love and things we do for thinking we’re in love. but then, what’s a little foolishness every once in a while?

    April 3, 2014 at 9:58 am

Leave a Reply

