Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Swift Scribbles: Truth 1

 

I put the cup down and face her.

 

“You know for a fact you’re attractive – you’re beautiful, successful, comfortable. To crown it all – you’re smart, independent… What man in his right mind wouldn’t want you – for selfish reasons or for entirely selfish reasons?!

 

“But this here’s the thing – I don’t see where I come into all this. Sure, there’s something about me. Sure, you like some of what you know – and would like to confirm most of what you suspect. The issue is ‘why’?

 

“Why me? What do you want – and don’t tell me ‘love’ or ‘purely procreational sex’. We both know those are not things that I – or any man for that matter have exclusivity on. You could as well get all that from other better looking better paid more like your type people. I don’t do Protea Hotel – not for dates anyway. I like bread and ewa agonyi – I eat boli and epa on the streets because frankly; I love it too much to wait till I get home.”

 

I take a deep breath, slightly fazed by the amused glint in her eyes. “So again I ask – what’s this about? Why me?”

 

She walks close to me, leans in and smiles in my eyes. “Are you saying all that because it’s true – or is that your way of putting up non-existent walls between us?”

 

Uh oh.

 

12 responses

  1. droplet4

    Hehehe … I love bread and ewa agoyi / boli too. And i miss it sooo .

    March 7, 2014 at 7:39 am

    • You miss it…?

      How come?

      March 7, 2014 at 7:47 am

      • droplet4

        We dont getI em here. I do try make d boli in ma oven tho buh it isnt like d street one( the chacoal taste )

        March 7, 2014 at 8:36 am

      • Yeah?

        As in…there’s nothing like it!

        March 7, 2014 at 8:41 am

  2. Oops! I just love your swift scribbles. U make them so real. I even imagine the scenes and the characters talking. 🙂

    March 7, 2014 at 11:05 am

  3. haba guy…she likes you. that should be enough…

    March 8, 2014 at 8:44 pm

  4. Gloire

    ghen-ghen. Stunned into silence …
    I agree with virtuousspirit, this is so relatable.

    March 12, 2014 at 12:58 am

    • It is…?

      Thank you!

      March 12, 2014 at 1:05 am

      • Gloire

        yup…
        need I expatiate?

        March 12, 2014 at 12:06 pm

  5. i love bread and ewa goyin too o, boli is my favorite. so forget about all these luxury, ur non-existence wall cant stand

    March 12, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

