Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Just Like That

 

It’s just too soon too fast

 

They always said ‘good things really don’t last’

 

But then they said ‘to your truth hold fast’

 

Funny – you always say you’re the one I’ll love last

 

Been a while – but it’s like we never left

 

Everything has to be right, is it useless; left?

 

You said ‘don’t write’ I said ‘that’s all I have left’

 

You said ‘you have me’ and that’s the problem

 

29th day in the new year – how much more; the rest?

 

You show me some kind of bravery

 

Intent on saving me from this savagery

 

Even if I don’t want you to

 

But don’t make me choose

 

Please. Not between this…

 

And You.

 

 

11 responses

  1. Errrm, I don’t think I can ever give up arts for anything. It’s all I’m very good at. If they/he love(s) me, they/he won’t have to make me choose. My choice doesn’t change what I feel about them/him…..

    January 29, 2014 at 8:09 am

    • Hmmm.

      Food for thought! Thank you.

      January 29, 2014 at 11:00 am

  2. Nneka

    What can separate us from the love of writing? Nothing and no one. It is not a choice. It is who we are.

    January 29, 2014 at 8:54 am

  3. This speaks to me. Maybe because I’ve been there one too many times.

    January 29, 2014 at 9:22 am

    • We gotta stay put at some point.

      Thanks!

      January 29, 2014 at 11:01 am

  4. *sigh

    January 29, 2014 at 11:46 am

  5. No one should make you choose between what’s right for you and them. Everyone needs to be true to whom they are. It’s for the other person to decide what they cannot and cannot live with…… 🙂 you are ok.

    January 30, 2014 at 10:48 am

    • I meant can or cannot live with.

      January 30, 2014 at 10:50 am

      • Yes, Wendy. I agree.

        Thank you so much!

        January 31, 2014 at 7:49 am

  6. For the love of writing…

    January 31, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Leave a Reply

