Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Swift Scribbles: Where I’ve Been

 

 

Happy New Year and all that.

 

I didn’t exactly have a holiday. I was at work for the better part of the break – and it wasn’t exactly something I’d enjoyed.

 

But there’s this new business…

 

Yeah. Where were we?

 

Oh yeah…

 

I went for that meeting with feelings of excitement. Far as I knew – I had gotten that monkey off my back.

 

In fact, as we walked I continually flexed my back muscles and kept bending over to the chagrin of my boss.

 

“What is wrong with you?”

 

“I’m fine ma. Really.”

 

And then I’d shadow box a little bit.

 

She couldn’t keep the irritation out of her eyes – and then relief as the elevator opened and we stepped into the client’s office lobby.

 

“Mina!” screamed an all-too-familiar voice and I turned, mouth going dry at the sight of the vulture swooping down.

 

A soft smell – something like crushed lemons breezed past me and the two women clasped each other, rolling back and forth.

 

I cleared my throat and wondered if I hadn’t been missing a whole lot.

 

She looked up and zeroed in on me as though she hadn’t just blow past.

 

“You darling delightful man!” She ran over and hugged me firmly, pawing and groping me all over. I tried to unclasp her –

 

“I got your gifts. Oh my, how romantic.” She breathed in my ear.

 

“Romantic?” I gasped. That was not what she was supposed to think.

 

“Yes,” she whispered. “I’m wearing one of them right now.”

 

I froze.

 

 

This was not going according to plan.

 

 

 

11 responses

  1. How so? Isn’t wooing her what you had in mind?

    January 10, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    • I don’t think so o.

      At least, not from what the story has been saying.

      January 10, 2014 at 5:48 pm

  2. Nneka

    Trouble dey sleep yanga go wake am up! Ehen! Sebi na you go buy the sexy lingerie? *tongue out*

    January 10, 2014 at 9:00 pm

  3. Hmmm, wants going on here?

    January 10, 2014 at 10:42 pm

  4. these ‘romantic’ gifts, and having to wear one of them…*clears throat

    January 11, 2014 at 7:28 am

  5. Is this a follow up to the one about the lingerie he was buying online….i hope so because i was a little unsure of what happened there. If yes, its brillian although I can’t remember all the details as much as I’d like to.

    January 13, 2014 at 9:31 am

  6. Pingback: Swift Scribbles: And Now | Seun Odukoya

Leave a Reply

