Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

To Celebrate Lizi

Water spews from inside dry rocks

Cradles still hanging from tree boughs

Days get old but birth something new,

Like words put together to celebrate you

Happy New Year Dear!

Happy New Year Dear!

 

Water flows and the wind always bubbles

Go where no one knows; cause some trouble

Live a little more; that you should do

But no matter what; always celebrate you

 

How great a mother’s pain – childbirth is no play

Watching the child grow up – for that; no pay

The reward is priceless, mothers pay dues

All for a chance to celebrate you

 

Special to a few; learn to break the rules

Dance on a tabletop, enjoy the groove

Give good account of the time; all through

Live so that when done; they’ll celebrate you

 

What do you live for? Who do you want more of?

Put a little load on yourself, take more off

The road to happiness is found sadly by few

It’s a new challenge dear, to daily celebrate you

 

Smell the stars, count the lilies

Play music and dance freely

Remember the One who made you; thank Him

I do; because He gave you for celebrating

 

For all the ones missed.

For all the ones ahead…

 

For then. And. Now.

17 responses

  1. Oh. My. God. Seun… this isn’t my comment yet. I’ll read it like 3 more times then comment. And wow, the pic makes me look soooooo cute. Yes, I’ll come back to comment.

    December 1, 2013 at 6:22 pm

  2. Every time I begin to type a comment I get sort of speechless. Who knew that could happen? But yes, we only live once so I’ll put a little load on myself and take more off, I’ll dance on the table and do scary things. And then I’ll do very bad things to you if you aren’t there to help me up if/when I fall flat on my face. That having been said, thanks for a lovely day, Seun Odukoya. Now, that was the comment.

    December 1, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    • Well.

      A privilege. A honor.

      You’re welcome.

      December 2, 2013 at 12:07 am

  3. Nneka

    I want to be a little bit jealous, but my heart says “you dey mad? This babe deserves it 110%” ; Seun, God bless you for this. I also like the snow flakes falling on this page.

    December 2, 2013 at 1:18 am

    • Thank you mami.

      Maybe I just need to remind you how special you are, no?

      December 2, 2013 at 5:11 am

  4. Exceptional!

    December 2, 2013 at 6:58 am

  5. Beautiful

    Beautifully crafted

    Special, the one to whom this is dedicated to

    December 2, 2013 at 11:08 am

  6. Wait.
    This should be Seun’s longest poem I’ve seen…I think.
    Speaks volumes >_>
    It’s a beautiful piece. Happy birthday in arrears, Lizi.

    December 2, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    • You haven’t exactly read a lot of my poetry, have you?

      Thank you.

      December 2, 2013 at 2:35 pm

      • Errr, probably. Or maybe I just forgot the length. :p

        December 2, 2013 at 2:39 pm

  7. joy

    oya mek una marry mek we hear word abeg

    December 4, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    • Hehehehehehe.

      Thank you for coming ma!

      December 4, 2013 at 4:54 pm

  8. Nice one.

    December 5, 2013 at 7:38 am

Leave a Reply

