Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Video

Of Dreams and Short Films

 

Don’t ever second-guess yourself. You disrespect God that way.

 

Last year in December, I released a short story compilation titled ‘For Days and A Night‘, an e-book that received unexpected accolades from several unexpected quarters. I didn’t expect the kind of reception it got – and I was content.

 

And then a friend of mine said; “you know what? We should shoot a movie off this book o.”

 

I thought he was crazy. But he sparked something in my head and we chose the very first story in the book. We worked on the script, argued, fought – and the next thing you know; I’m on a ‘set’ watching a story I wrote come alive.

 

Now don’t get excited o. It’s not some ‘Steven-Spielberg-Universal-Studios-big-budget’ something – it’s not ‘Nollywood’ sef. Imagine a movie set lit by smartphone torch-lights.

 

Bottom line though:anything is possible. The only limits we have are the ones we create ourselves. A woman told me; “don’t say the sky is the limit. There are footprints on the moon.”

 

 

We weren’t professionals, we didn’t have money – but we had passion. And we rallied round an idea. And whether ‘fantastic’ or ‘lame’ we took what we had and did something. That counts for a little, no?

 

I apologize for the sound and picture quality. We will do better next time.

 

Without further ado; I present you a short film off the e-book For Days and A Night: Idle Chatter.

 

My friend, award-winning copywriter and director Ayo Moore did the honors. He tweets here and blogs here. He’s such an amazing guy.

 

I really am grateful for my friends, the cast, the crew, my team – God really blessed me with some of the greatest guys anywhere in the solar system.

 

And to you, dear faithful reader. You’re the reason. Thank you.

 

Big things start small. Go start something. Stop reading now now and GO!

 

God bless.

38 responses

  1. Mr Odukoya 🙂 methinks the woman is rather clever! My mama says I’m limitless 🙂

    This is the product of passion and dreams, all it took was one guy, his awesome freakish imaginations mixed with like minded dreamers and what do you know!

    September 16, 2013 at 4:33 am

    • Anything Is Possible.

      Your mama is so right, you know.

      Thank you Dotta!

      September 16, 2013 at 6:30 am

  2. Before I GO, I am so proud of you. This is the start of some great things ahead. More grace!

    September 16, 2013 at 5:01 am

    • Aw. Aww!

      Thank you and amen!

      For you and yours too!

      September 16, 2013 at 6:29 am

  3. Tiwani

    God blesyou for believing in yourself. Some people won’t even dream far enough to try. Nice job. It’ll definitely get better the more you try.

    September 16, 2013 at 6:21 am

  4. Not watched it yet. Will do so when I activate my swift later. But great job. This is the way to go, really. You set the pace, Seun, as always and I pray others follow
    Well done, you

    September 16, 2013 at 6:53 am

    • Thank you so much, Sally!

      It’s a privilege! Let’s do this!

      September 16, 2013 at 7:13 am

  5. Now you know why I ‘famz’ you shey…you simply rock!!!
    All other comments reserved till I watch in a bit

    September 16, 2013 at 7:01 am

    • Bro! Wow…

      Thank you so much. God bless!

      September 16, 2013 at 7:13 am

  6. Congratulations, man. I know how it feels to see your story, your idea take form on screen. I will watch it when network permits *I am tired of internet wahala in this country*

    September 16, 2013 at 7:40 am

    • Don’t be man. We have to make do.

      Thanks for you encouraging encouragement!

      God bless.

      September 16, 2013 at 7:46 am

  7. Nice one. Really nice one. Well done to the entire team.

    September 16, 2013 at 8:22 am

  8. Onyinye

    Hmmm!!!!!! Is all I can say…..buh its good *hmmmm* nice video despite d low gadgets used….u re indeed a goal getter…. Pls cn I gt d link for d download.. Couldn’t do it all ds while cus of network failure…

    September 16, 2013 at 9:28 am

    • Em. Where can I get it to you – or would you rather I just mail it over?

      Thank you!

      September 16, 2013 at 12:31 pm

  9. Nice one Seun. really nice, inspite of the obvious constraints. You know you are an inspiration in many ways abi? Weldone!

    September 16, 2013 at 10:53 am

    • Whoa! I’m grateful, really!

      September 16, 2013 at 12:30 pm

  10. This is amazing!! Proud of u dear…

    September 16, 2013 at 10:54 am

  11. Good one Mr Odukoya..brilliant! More grease and other saponaceous susbtances to your elbow..:)

    September 16, 2013 at 11:00 am

  12. Very well done. Network has destroyed my plan to post an epistle twice.

    Well done again.

    September 16, 2013 at 11:50 am

  13. LMAOOOO. When I first read this story, the imagination was vivid, and all the more so with this short. I would say though, that this is a great start, mehn. I like seeing people I know aspire to greatness.

    Keep it up, boss!

    September 16, 2013 at 12:55 pm

  14. Yes o! This man is going places!
    Keep dreaming, keep believing in yourself..
    The sky is just the starting point…

    September 16, 2013 at 4:25 pm

  15. Wow, way to go, Seun! 🙂

    September 16, 2013 at 6:00 pm

  16. olanwrites

    Wow!

    September 16, 2013 at 7:04 pm

  17. Reblogged this on moreofmooreblog*.

    September 17, 2013 at 6:44 pm

  18. Ah, the smile… I saw it at the beginning. I want to come home! 😦
    That having been said, Seun Odukoya, well done. May the road rise to meet you and may the wind be always at your back. You’ll do bigger things!
    Emmm… I hv a complaint, though. According to the book the wife’s nightie was meant to be more revealing and more… never mind.

    September 21, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    • Come home, Liz.

      Amen and thank you so much.

      About the complaint – the movie is rated PG 14. No?

      Hehehehehehehehe!

      September 22, 2013 at 1:53 pm

  19. It’s worthy of note this progress.

    September 30, 2013 at 8:07 pm

  20. If I left a message every time I… oh, never mind.

    January 3, 2014 at 1:47 am

Leave a Reply

