Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Coming Back Home II

STOP!

 

If you have not read Coming Home I, click here now!

 

Hehehehe. Good morning!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

When did I stop loving my wife? He asked himself.

 

The answer came from his ever-honest consciousness instantly; It’s not a matter of when you stopped loving her. It’s more a matter of if you ever loved her at all.

 

He blinked repeatedly with shame. He never loved her.

 

He looked at the boy beside him. Chika’s eyes were closed and he was breathing deeply and calmly. He didn’t stir as the car left the tarred main road and began climbing the rocky slope of the street they lived on. Eze’s mind went back to his wife, and inexplicably he ached to see her. But what if she isn’t home? What does she do throughout the day sef?

 

What if she’s having an affair?

 

She dare not!

 

Ehen, see ya head like ‘she dare not’. Are you not having an affair? IN fact; nna, are you not having SEVERAL?!

 

He drove up to his gate and bit his lower lip nervously. He felt totally out of sync – as though he was about to meet his wife for the first time. Suddenly he picked up his phone and switched it off. He did not feel like going to the island anymore.

 

“Sanu, oga Eze,” the gateman saluted as he opened the gate. Eze lowered his side window and responded. “Sanu alhaji. How market?”

 

The man shrugged. “Dey go dey go.” He suddenly peered into the car and saw the sleeping boy. “Kai! E don go flay ballu abi?”

 

Eze laughed and put the car in gear. “Abi o. E don commot since morning na – e must tire!” He waved at the man as he drove past; easing his car into the landlord’s parking space. He smiled grimly. The man was going to have to adjust.

 

Turning off the car engine, he stepped out of the car, walked to the other side and opened the door to carry his son – and then he looked up and realized his window was still down. He reached across the sleeping boy and turned on the ignition, pushed the window button and watched it close. And then he eased back to carry the boy – and bumped into someone.

 

“Sorry,” they said at the same time, and he turned to stand face to face with his wife, Adaobi.

 

He felt how you would feel if you suddenly found out your next door neighbor; the same one you have lived with for almost nine years was Genevieve? Not that Adaobi was that beautiful or anything.

 

In fact, she was looking thinner and paler than he remembered. There was a droop at the corners of her mouth – and the shine had gone out of her eyes.

 

Her hair…

 

“Welcome,” she said, not looking at him.

 

“What happened to you?” he said, unconsciously speaking out his thoughts. “What?” she asked, meeting his eyes for the first time. “What do you mean?” she asked again.

 

“Nothing,” Eze mumbled, and suddenly brushed his lips against hers. Adaobi flinched in surprise and he almost laughed out loud at the shocked expression on her face. Instead he turned, pulled his key out of the car ignition, scooped up the still-sleeping boy in his arms and sidestepped his wife when she reached for him.

 

“Are you not going out again?” she asked as she fell in step beside him. Eze shook his head.

 

“No. I’m staying home today with my son and wife.”

 

He walked on into the house carrying Chika and therefore missed the look on his wife’s face.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I apologize for the length. The next place I could reasonably break it off would have made it an epistle!

 

Thank you. Let’s make it a date – next Monday! 

 

Have a fulfilling week!

49 responses

  1. M

    aaarrggghhhh!!!! *smashes phone*
    Not another long’a’throat! *weeps*

    Ok, enough of d hysterics, this story tho! Lmao!
    ” Ehen, see ya head like ‘she dare not’. Are you not having an affair? IN fact; nna, are you not having SEVERAL?! ”
    Hilarious! Lmao!

    That look on missus’s face sha, I’m dying to know d expression on her face/reaction to his new madness (of course she thinks of him as loco)

    I think I’ll lay off this till it’s complete. I hate having to wait for ten thou….sand and eighty som’in minutes to get another dose of Seun’therapy. It’s just not fair na, in fact; Nna y suffer children of God? *sobs*

    July 15, 2013 at 7:23 am

    • I’m so sorry!

      The interesting thing is – I do it for you guys! I was thinking it would be too long – I’m so sorry again!

      Please bear with me – and thank you for so much!

      July 15, 2013 at 7:37 am

  2. I really admire how well you manage to infuse so much emotion in these really short pieces.

    July 15, 2013 at 7:34 am

    • Thank you so much. It’s a privilege too!

      July 16, 2013 at 6:22 am

  3. Nneka

    If I were Adaobi, I’d head straight for the medicine cabinet and grab a thermometer and some analgesics. Oh wait, maybe he bumped his head against something o! This must be temporary amnesia! Chei!!! Seun, beht why? You should have added just a teeny weeny bit more na! *folds arms across chest, sulking*

    July 15, 2013 at 7:34 am

    • Forgive me!

      Thank you for visiting!

      July 15, 2013 at 8:00 am

  4. Charles

    Seun!!! WTH is ya problem?! Why suffer us like this na?! Did we tell ya we have a problem with the length of ya stories?! Kpscheeeeeeeeew!!! Anyway keep ’em coming maestro!

    July 15, 2013 at 7:50 am

    • Sir Charles, I can only apologize and hope you guys understand. 1,500 words this early? I thought that might be too much. So sorry.

      Thank you so much!

      July 15, 2013 at 7:58 am

      • Charles

        You are welcome and like I said, keep ’em coming cus we are hooked!

        July 15, 2013 at 8:02 am

  5. Oh..I’m with you on this one. Do. Not. Disappoint.

    🙂

    July 15, 2013 at 8:03 am

    • God willing.

      I. Will. Not.

      Thank you!

      July 15, 2013 at 11:51 am

  6. jane

    Gosh!! Men should just learn 2 love their wives… Ɣ☺ΰ can imagine, he never loved her yet d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ got married.. Thank God he ɪ̣̝̇ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ retracing his steps courtsey his son’s observation

    July 15, 2013 at 8:05 am

    • Yes o! Thank God the boy is outspoken.

      Thank you so much!

      July 15, 2013 at 11:50 am

  7. I haven’t read the part one but I so like this one. From what I have read I am imagining a lot of things like maybe his wife has a mental problem. He is cheating on her not good. Or maybe she also is cheating hmmm can’t wait for the for the remaining. http://www.secretlilies.com

    July 15, 2013 at 8:07 am

    • Thank you Firi!

      Mesef don’t know o! Let’s see how it goes!

      Next week!

      July 15, 2013 at 11:49 am

  8. I like how you handing it to us bit by bit, to be honest, makes me want to kill you ohh!!! But i’m liking it so i’ll allow you to stay on the planet. ( ._.)

    July 15, 2013 at 8:28 am

    • Please don’t kill me!

      I promise by God’s grace! Next week!!

      July 15, 2013 at 11:46 am

  9. Woooow…. Nice combo… Really enjoyed every bit of it… From the hausa lang to the grammar that it entailed… Keep up the good work … And also don’t hesitate to mention me on twitter with the link to next monday’s edition… Remain blessed !!!

    July 15, 2013 at 8:30 am

    • I will bro! Thank you so much!

      God blessed!

      July 15, 2013 at 11:45 am

  10. Nice write up… And I hope to read more on the next edition

    July 15, 2013 at 8:52 am

  11. Hmmmm…. Everything was put in details. 🙂 I’m loving this so far, and can’t wait for the remaining part of it.

    July 15, 2013 at 9:48 am

  12. What Janus Aneni said. Do. Not. Disappoint. My expectations are sky high.
    No pressure. 🙂

    July 15, 2013 at 11:52 am

    • Thank you.

      And your expectations shall not be cut off.

      God willing!

      July 15, 2013 at 12:42 pm

  13. RealTALK

    I’m quite satisfied with the length. Good read too.

    July 15, 2013 at 4:37 pm

  14. Aww… there was nothing wrong with the length, Seun, so don’t bother at all. In fact I even wished I could read more. I love the direction the story’s going. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    July 15, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    • Thank you KayKay!!!!

      For EVERYTHING. God bless.

      July 16, 2013 at 6:23 am

  15. another good job, kay kay

    July 16, 2013 at 10:07 am

  16. I don’t mind epistle at all. Just keep it coming. Following u all the way

    July 16, 2013 at 11:25 am

  17. It would be interesting to see how this plays out. Keep us guessing!

    July 16, 2013 at 4:01 pm

  18. nice post, its so cute cos i live at ogudu too.

    July 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    • You do?! How amazing!

      Please say hi to Eze for me if you see him. Tell him I hope he’s got his stuff together!

      July 20, 2013 at 6:50 am

  19. i wouldnt mind u posting a link of my blog up here, you have alot of avid readers.

    July 16, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    • Oh definitely! Let’s make it happen!

      I do have a lot of family don’t I? I’m so privileged!

      Bless God.

      July 20, 2013 at 6:52 am

  20. You’ve answered enough queries about the length of this episode so I’ll let you be.
    Funny how very inconsequential things and unexpected people help us retrace our steps in life. I hope Eze’s rediscovery leads him where I wish but its too early to say.
    Big ups Seun

    July 17, 2013 at 9:56 am

  21. Sour grapes. That’s what many allow married life become. Folks definition of love varies on moods and varying versions of truths. Mr Odukoya, if only I knew you in person, then I would be able to confirm if my suspicions are correct or not,hehehehe…
    I like the way you write, do you talk that way? because its unhurried and precise. The kind of talker who lets you know a fly just flew by and takes you through the drill; no lost movements, visions or gestures..I like .
    Okay bck to this here, it’s coming in well buddy,can’t wait for more.

    July 17, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    • Wow!

      Thank you so much. Thank you.

      God bless you much!

      July 17, 2013 at 6:27 pm

  22. I hate this… Waiting to complete my reading of a wonderful story. I truly hate it. I’ll have to come back in August.
    You write really well, Seun – I know it’s God. Hehe. Well done. $ß

    July 20, 2013 at 6:44 am

    • Thank you, darling!

      It IS God. Bless Him.

      July 20, 2013 at 6:49 am

  23. One thing I have come to realize about relationships generally is that making it work or not is a choice. If not, how do you explain loving someone you at some point hated….so what changed in between? Nothing much changed I guess, at least nothing physical. It is just the perception, the choice to see something different in your partner. The choice to see her smile to be beautiful than irritating, choice to feel the pleasantness and hope her voice offers and not the frustration you are seeing. Although I won’t want to bet my money on how this would end; good or bad, but for now , am stuck. Nice one bro.

    July 29, 2013 at 10:38 am

    • Thank you so so much.

      And you’re so right, you know. Choice!

      Thanks again!

      July 29, 2013 at 10:46 am

    • I appreciate your view on this bro! Deep! Deep!

      Thank you!

      July 31, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Leave a Reply

