Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Midweek Fix: And Death Cries

I had a conversation with Death last night;

In tears she was; making noises with deep sighs

It startled me; I was scared – I cried

And then I saw her tears; I wanted to ask why

But I was scared.

She said; with that shivery, scary vibe

‘It isn’t your time.’

I hushed

And she continued; in that same quiet voice,

‘This is what I do; you must think my tears are absurd,

But what we do is not always quite what we love,

Taking old souls really is my job,

But the way the young die nowadays?! Ridiculous!’

I though I understood what she meant;

But then she said ‘I have seen things you can’t imagine’

They say the graveyard is full of potential,

Of what use is potential to the graveyard?

Then I got the gravity of her tears; the weight of this grave yarns

So I sat at my system to spin a yarn

Stop procrastinating; do what you need to now,

No time like the present; I no fit shout,

Don’t live wasted half-lives; the grave has had enough,

Do what you know you need to; the universe needs you.

And death still cries. And cries.

And we die.

courtesy deviantart.com

courtesy deviantart.com

10 responses

  1. Dammit! Why do you have to make me have to get off my lazy butt and do the things I should? You’re not a good friend.

    July 11, 2013 at 1:22 am

    • One day you’ll thank me.

      Thank you.

      July 11, 2013 at 6:52 am

  2. Incredible is the word..so I nominated you for a liebster *inappropriate or no* Itz Love.
    http://mulicat.wordpress.com/2013/02/28/the-liebster-and-my-oscar-2/

    July 12, 2013 at 10:12 am

    • Uh. Um.

      Inappropriate ke? How?

      I really really appreciate. Thank you!

      July 12, 2013 at 11:33 am

  3. M

    *sigh*
    Dear Lord…
    *Reflection activated, procrastination deactivated… again*
    1ce more Sir, thanks.

    July 14, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    • You’re so welcome! Thank you much!

      July 15, 2013 at 6:20 am

  4. This is a good writeup mr odukoya. Una well done
    Am nt going to comment on ur today’s post though I’ve read it# rollseye
    U did it again, and this time, no chance to even settle and get comfortable bfr I saw it had ended.
    Have a wonderful week

    July 15, 2013 at 7:07 am

    • Please forgive me! I was thinking it would have been too long!

      So sorry! Thank you!

      Have a sweet week too!

      July 15, 2013 at 7:38 am

  5. Nwosu Chibuzo cee

    Is lovely one..

    July 22, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

