Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

For God (Small Thanks)

Sometimes I get so ahead of myself,

It’s true – I do get ahead of myself

What makes it laughable is I cannot see myself

Forgive the repetition but I’m trying to be – myself (hehehehe)

 

Sometimes, I don’t pay attention to my health

I lie; that usually is the case

Until that knot tightens and shortens my breath

And tells me; “slow down! It’s not a race!”

 

Sometimes, I don’t even know what I’m doing

I just string words together and they become fluid

Flowing from pen to paper to keyboard, words be screwing

Microsoft Word – I impregnate and birth new things

 

Nitwit? No, I see different like Isaac Newton

Never bow to the stress; I internalize it,

Okay – I admit that’s kind of selfish

But we deal with things differently, don’t we?

 

Still I walk on – like a crip; get my walk on

Bow in front of the system, get my work on

Ignore the distractions, the sounds, the noise

Those things are there to make you lose your poise

 

But this is not about me – no, rather Him

I get through it all because He carries me

So if I ever touched you with a line I wrote,

Please thank Him instead; it’s usually Him I quote

 

 

You may also like: Words I Never Said

                                         Naked

 

5 responses

  1. Touching…

    God in us all… 🙂

    April 10, 2013 at 8:27 am

  2. aww. I like this a lot. 🙂

    April 12, 2013 at 3:10 pm

  3. True talk, Seun. . And you better start taking better care of yourself too, Mister.

    May 10, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

