Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Midweek Fix: We Were

 

WE WERE

 

We were but strangers across a board
You sat and stared, I did not sit at all
And might have gone on but for a moment we shared
Saw something funny; laughed and didn’t care
Got to talking, you were waiting for your man
I was there for the lunch

Didn’t seem to notice that we drew stares,
I was just making a new friend, a trend so rare

Time passes; like trash in waste cans,
I was there when you went for that test – and
I was there, through those lonely nights
When you would call me, not him – cause y’all just had another fight
We were like brother and sister; Ne-Yo and Rihanna
When I heard he punched I snapped and nearly threw him under
A moving car; such was my anger

Now calm down.

Yeah, y’all made up; you made it through the worst
Funny, I did not even feel like I was hurt
I was so happy, because you were so happy is all
But that still did not stop the late-night calls
Suddenly; the dam burst forth; like the leeves broke,
We let our guards down; and it was murder she wrote
And Jaheim I quote

It was innocent enough; I mean everyone talks about sex
From the lecturers to the pastors; hell they do it best
So what was the big deal? We were just friends sharing
A little too much; all in the name of caring
Then we began to talk about this sex in excess
Sentences like ‘Is he doing you right?’ and ‘He goes on for too long’
Whoever gave me the right to make his wrong right?
And as this sad song I write,
I remember, your lips writhing, hips twisting
Pleading, for me to quench the flames my fingers had awakened
Me thinking; I just want to do a little kissing,
A little touching, a little necking
A little pleasing; that started a lot of drenching
In sweat and sweet love’s gum
In mouth and tongue moisture and nature’s _______
I wish we had not started, now I cannot stop
And the worst part? We no longer talk
Except in the sensual language of sweating bodies,
Panting breaths and groaning bedposts

Me and you together, misting up the predawn air,
Tapping it from the front, hitting it from the rear
We never ever get done, we always want more
Now I wish I could exchange that for something long gone
It’s funny how now all I feel is loss
Loss; and an incredible boulder of guilt.

We were.

22 responses

  1. harun oye

    this is beautiful! I love it!

    March 20, 2013 at 5:29 am

  2. Dayyumm!! Some lines here were simply beautiful.

    March 20, 2013 at 5:31 am

  3. Ene Abah

    A clear picture of many relationships today, wanting more and killing what used to be…

    March 20, 2013 at 7:04 am

    • Undoubtedly.

      Thank you. Do come again.

      March 20, 2013 at 7:30 am

  4. wow, this was incredibly sexy..

    March 20, 2013 at 8:05 am

  5. Absolutely brilliant

    March 20, 2013 at 8:07 am

  6. emeka

    Well constructed

    March 20, 2013 at 8:20 am

  7. Erm, erm, see why it’s cool to be single, no wahala at all… :d *runs away*

    This is cool, almost lyrical. Kudos.

    March 20, 2013 at 10:13 am

  8. Blaize

    a master piece

    March 20, 2013 at 11:09 am

  9. lil lyrical, lil “poem-ical”…but mostly magical and interestingly practical.

    Awesome!

    March 20, 2013 at 2:53 pm

  10. Now, I see. *Pushes goggles back up*

    March 20, 2013 at 5:16 pm

  11. Boss! You never cease to ‘kill it’ whenever you do it. Creative piece! Had to do a second read . . . and a third too. I would love to hear it recited though . . . spoken word tinz. All in all, awesome read! Vintage Seun Odukoya!

    March 22, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    • Thank you so much.

      It’s God o. Really!

      March 25, 2013 at 2:48 am

Leave a Reply

