Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Poem: My Rare Valentine

I have today a special guest; a friend, a relative and a colleague who has agreed to share his latest poem with us.

He goes by the name Psalmurai (you might want to google that), he’s a rapper and I won’t try to sell him to you. Read the following lines – and judge for yourselves.

 

 

 

My Rare Valentine

My dear valentine; another year has come/

And before you count to twelve another year has gone/

Don’t get mad; just listen as I share my thoughts/

These words written for you are meant to heal, not hurt/

I love it when you sing my praise ‘cus you know my worth/

But when I return the favor you don’t believe my words/

Maybe you think I’m full of it; playing mind games and such/

Maybe you’ll believe me more if I tell it with a touch/

But you’re miles over seas now picture me swimming/

I know I did you wrong; hope these rhymes are redeeming/

I be sad, I see your pic and start beaming/

Your beauty, smile and laughter got me going/

Look what you do to me without knowing/  

The seeds of smiles you sowed in me are now showing/

All I wanna do is return the favor; dear lady/

Lord give me grey skies and make hers blue daily/

Or we can share, I’ll take half of your tears/

You take half of my fears, split the worries in our heads/

They say babies and marriage are the only the thing that matters/

But touching you were it matters is the only thing that matters/

I play back conversations and finally I get it/

You don’t wanna give your heart and get it back broken/

Believe I agree with You; both sexes are equal/

You got a mind of your own that’s why I’m crazy about you/

It’s been a lot of years since you went that way/

Last time you came home I avoided your face/

Now I seek it hoping to find that shine…refreshing

Hear what I’m saying mama?

You can see this as closure or opening doors/

To a different side of me you have never seen before/ 

Tell me a man that you know that exists without flaws/

Might as well show me a man that can walk without floors/

Dear valentine hope you find what you’re looking for/

Let’s keep in touch till I find a girl that is good enough/

Another that compares with the light that you’re putting on/

Don’t take my words light I took time out to write it for…You/

Words.

As I steal a part of that and sent it to my Val;

She’ll read and get it; I know that.

Have fun today, lovers. Life is too short.

6 responses

  1. I can’t exactly place what it is, but something here I like.

    February 14, 2013 at 10:47 am

  2. foluso adisa

    3 words: Psalmurai #almost famous

    February 14, 2013 at 11:15 pm

  3. Faith Achema

    Wow…..lovely…really lovely. What’s her name?

    February 15, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    • Secret!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Hello ma!

      February 16, 2013 at 3:36 am

Leave a Reply

