Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Drama

 

That’s what it was. That’s the only way I can describe it.

D.R.A.M.A.

Imagine waking up on a Saturday morning…stretching and looking forward to a day characterized by washing, cooking, eating, sleeping and maybe a movie or two…ALL IN YOUR HOUSE.

And then less than three hours later you’re on your way to see your friend whose boyfriend had battered her close to death.

Which kain life be dis?

At least that’s what I was thinking as I boarded the BRT bus on my way to Igho’s house. Which kain life?!

We all thought Dele was a sweet and innocent guy. We all thought he was made for Igho when she finally said yes to him and they started dating. They looked so good together…even I was a bit envious. I was jealous of my friend.

But I loved her a lot – I still do obviously; so I made her joy mine. I encouraged and advised and supported her – even though I was single and hurting myself. She deserved to be happy.

So when did this Dele of a guy become a boxer – beating my friend to a pulp?

I won’t lie to you; I was scared witless. I did not know what I was going to do once I got to his house in Ajah…I just knew I wanted to be with my friend. Her voice…when she called me that morning was like a whisper.

Suddenly I was crying. I did not want to lose my friend…not that way at all. It was not the best way to say goodbye to her…and I was not ready to do that just yet.

“This BRT bus should hurry jo,” I mumbled under my breath, wiping my eyes with my scarf and hoping none of the other passengers would notice. It did not look like they did.

I had dropped at CMS before I remember the okada ban. I was in a hurry – so I just took a cab down to Ajah straight to Dele’s house. It was with heart in mouth I paid the cab man and walked towards the compound.

The gate stood open.

A forebooding kind of silence enveloped the compound and it was with knocking knees I stepped in. A sprawling duplex, I was not sure exactly which was Dele’s apartment but I recognized his car – a red Toyota Avensis. I looked for the gateman to ask which was his apartment but there was no one in sight. Walking carefully, my heartbeat pounding loud in my ears, I walked towards the only door I could see – one in the side of the house.

I knocked – and then the door opened under my hand.

“Hi babe!”

That was Igho. I swear my eyes swam. I think I might have fainted for a bit, because the next time I came to myself, I was half-sitting half lying on the couch with Igho holding a glass of cold water to my lips. I looked at her face closely for signs of battery but all I could see was shinning teeth and sparkling eyes set in a glowing face. 

I took a small sip of the water before I could speak. “Igho…what’s going on?”

My friend hugged me firmly. “I knew I could count on you to come running. I’m sorry I tricked you like that, but I needed you to come as fast as possible,” She grinned impishly. “And there you are.”

I sat up, feeling a bit better. “Why the deception?”

And then I noticed there were two people standing in a doorway. Two men.

One was Dele. I could not see the other guy clearly…but he looked vaguely familiar…

Oh no. Not him.

Not Obi…

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

For Days and A Night, my first book coming soon. Get ready.

 

7 responses

  1. You got me there!!!!!

    December 10, 2012 at 10:23 am

  2. villebilingue

    you so had me there!

    December 21, 2012 at 11:05 am

    • Wow. Thanks!

      Em…where else can I have you?

      December 21, 2012 at 3:50 pm

  3. Wow…nice suspenseful read. However I feel you should establish to us earlier that the protagonist is a female. If not for the place where she used a scarf and where Igho called her ‘babe’ I wouldn’t have thought she was a female.

    Other than that, I like the build of the story. A nice subtle cliffhanger

    January 24, 2013 at 8:39 am

    • Why should I do that, Afro?

      Of what significance is your knowing she’s female earlier in the story? Exactly what does it take away from it?

      Thank you!

      January 25, 2013 at 12:40 am

  4. I love the dramatic effect you add to the story, it is so dramatic!

    January 29, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    • Hehehehehe! We try to please!

      Thank you!

      January 30, 2013 at 7:03 am

Leave a Reply

