Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

For A Dance

Sure I’d like to dance with you,
Hold you when you’re feeling blue
Be the centre of your gravity true,
Make you feel like it’s just us two

No bumps; I’ll make the journey most smooth
Arms like this’ll steady your roots
No demands; don’t think too much – just be calm
We’ll hold hands and be each other’s balm

I know you’re scared – but hear this;
That steady thump; the rhythm of my heartbeat,
Is it a mistake; how with yours it aligns?
Is it ‘cos we’re human, that’s why it rhymes?
No; I tell you there’s more to our design

Sometimes – we swap lips for mouths,
Mistake an embrace for a hug
Sometimes we take it too far when we should just stop

No pressure, no rush, no race against time,
No predestination; no ‘that’s the finish line’
Let’s just be us; you and me

All I’m saying is…
Let’s dance, you and I

For ‘her’.

24 responses

  1. This ‘her’ ehn! Hehehe…nice one. I like d smooth, rhythmic flow of this.
    That enigmatic ‘her’ must be reeling…..if she gets to read dis.

    November 22, 2012 at 7:50 am

    • Shai…

      Thank you man. Thanks!

      November 22, 2012 at 11:09 am

  2. nice.

    November 22, 2012 at 8:19 am

  3. I felt this, and if I was female and into you, I’d be pinging, emailing or calling you right now to FIGHT; that line FOR HER just filtered this poem to one person. I reckon girls won’t like that very much. And HER would prolly make yanga now :d

    Nice poem. Those rhymes sire… lyrical. I hope you’re not just toasting oo… #okbye

    November 22, 2012 at 8:33 am

    • Daireen;

      Thank you so much. I was inspired…it was ‘her’ and the thoughts…and the lines just came.

      Natural progression I guess. Thank you!

      November 22, 2012 at 11:09 am

    • I don’t make yanga. Hmph

      November 22, 2012 at 7:57 pm

      • Huh?

        November 22, 2012 at 10:29 pm

      • Ok ma’m, noted. Hope you’re not angry though :d

        November 22, 2012 at 10:54 pm

      • *strolling past*

        November 23, 2012 at 3:46 am

      • Baba you can’t be jelox fa! =))

        November 23, 2012 at 11:12 am

  4. This vulnerable raw unprotected side…

    November 22, 2012 at 8:40 am

    • Err….

      What’s that?!

      November 22, 2012 at 11:08 am

      • it is what it is na

        November 25, 2012 at 8:45 pm

  5. OnyiBi

    Sigh. Love it all over again. Brilliant.

    November 22, 2012 at 9:07 am

  6. Ok. So I signed in now. Seun this piece is timeless.

    November 22, 2012 at 9:13 am

  7. Hmmm…

    I love this.

    November 22, 2012 at 9:25 am

  8. Beautiful piece !!! I love it.

    November 22, 2012 at 9:38 am

  9. Nice! You have a way with rhymes Sire…Keep doing ur thing. $ß

    December 25, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Leave a Reply

