Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

I’m Not Ready

I’M NOT READY

 

Can you forgive me? See the thing is…

See the thing is, I don’t know much of anything,

I’m a mess of prescription drugs, alcohol and pills

A collage of bitter memories – sad indeed;

A composition of ill health, fevers and chills

When I wrote for the next girl, she did come; true

My mistake was in mistaking her for you

As a result; instead of a taking my time I rushed;

And ended up making a huge big deal out of a crush

You can’t hurry love; we all know that,

But there’s a mile between knowing and doing; that’s a fact

The difference between coming and going; rap and crap,

The difference between boys and girls – yeah all that

 A car’s passing right now, playing Wizkid’s Don’t Dull,

Can’t get the hurt of misplaced love out of my skull,

You know what they say; all cats are grey in the dark,

Didn’t look like I should have, can’t blame PHCN for that!

But I do need to ask – fuck took you so long?!

I want to yell get out, goodbye, so long,

I mean – I sent a cab, and it is possible you missed that,

But BRT buses are still running, so why the time lapse?

Life traffic is insane; Lagos traffic even more so,

But you could have taken an okada to avoid the go-slow

So she came in first, and I thought that was you

Gave her my best shot, my best call, yes, even jewels

But it was not meant to be, and that made it worse

Cause I knew from long ago – never settle for what’s not yours

Now you come in, smiling, all ready for loving

My frown made you ask, ‘did I do something?’

No baby, you did absolutely nothing;

That’s the problem – I did too much in a hurry

Now I have to say just leave; don’t be angry

I just don’t want to waste your time; I’m not ready

Maybe a day from now; or maybe a month,

Maybe when all the bitterness is gone from my tongue

Maybe when all the sorrow is said and done

Maybe I would have all the time to mourn

But for now…

Wait.

 

 

16 responses

  1. Was thrilling and captivating, made sure I read it all! Nice one

    August 14, 2012 at 5:47 am

  2. Very Nice! Reads like a rap verse though; deep and real. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

    August 14, 2012 at 5:56 am

  3. Nice piece bruv!

    August 14, 2012 at 5:59 am

  4. Take your time, even though that’s not still a guarantee. It’s well.

    August 14, 2012 at 6:58 am

  5. Don’t be scaring ’em away o – if at all this is meant something more than just what it is.
    I know you know the rules of the game well….
    Nice one.

    August 14, 2012 at 8:40 am

    • Thank you.

      You know I got this tho.

      August 14, 2012 at 6:07 pm

  6. teewah

    u kno wot i found is dat askin dem to wait/stay away/take a break…or woteva name we cal it,doesnt actuali heal/tke away/erase d bitterness we wia tryin to 4get or heal in d first place.

    August 14, 2012 at 9:44 am

  7. tiwa

    You know what I have found is that, when we tell them to take a break/wait/go…or whatever name we call it…it doesn’t usually erase/heal the bitterness we were tryin to heal or forget in the first place.

    August 14, 2012 at 10:24 am

  8. i wish there were other comments other than the cliche ‘Nice’ or ‘Lovely Piece’ …this was so nice, id hate to water it down with half baked comments.

    that said,
    I love the fluidity of the entire poem and its connoted significance

    December 16, 2013 at 8:18 am

Leave a Reply

