Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Words I Never Said

 

I think I said I love you too early;

But who cares? I said it ‘cos I meant it

Maybe I don’t deserve you; maybe I do,

But I know either way; my heart won’t stay idle

Maybe I never thought I’d ever feel like this again;

Maybe I knew so much feeling could only end in pain,

Maybe I should have told you; trusted you with my fears;

They say even with tears in your eyes, you should still see clear

Maybe I did spend too much time talking about my fears;

Talked about them so much you started to hear

Maybe I should have just told you how I really felt;

But I was afraid of what I was feeling; tied with a lipstick belt

Maybe I said ‘I’m sorry’ too often; maybe I didn’t say enough;

Maybe I said it too late to stop the hurt,

Maybe I was trying to put out the fire after the eggs were burnt;

Maybe I should be singing ‘Goodbye My Lover’; like James Blunt

Maybe I shouldn’t have said what I did; maybe I should have,

Maybe I should have shrugged at your hurt and said ‘too bad’

But I know I said what I did because I meant it

But then again; does that make me right; knowing you’d resent it?

I’m from that school where it’s actions over words;

That’s why I showed – not tell you how happy you made me

Or maybe I said it; but no more than once;

And I stopped ‘cos you looked at me like I was crazy

They say good things don’t last; I believe it

We can part if we have to; but not like this,

Can we hit the reset button and start again; please

Like I just ran into you and said ‘hi, my name is…’

Words I Never Said

…………………………………………………………………………………………..

And a Happy New Year to Moi!

19 responses

  1. Rings too close home….

    July 23, 2012 at 5:27 am

  2. I can totally relate…amazin word artistry (Y)

    July 23, 2012 at 6:15 am

  3. Feels like dejavu….. Nice work bruv!

    July 23, 2012 at 6:56 am

  4. Babyada

    You know my thought already. Cheers.

    July 23, 2012 at 8:01 am

    • Do I…?

      Thank you.

      July 23, 2012 at 8:49 pm

      • Okay. If you don’t, I’ll tell you. I like it. I think you have to say it to whoever it is.

        July 24, 2012 at 5:43 am

      • Easier said than done.

        Ever tried telling someone who knows everything something?

        July 24, 2012 at 9:39 pm

  5. tialohluwah

    This piece and others like “To the next girl, her breasts” are works from you that….

    Sounds like a reflection of somefin deep…I like!

    July 23, 2012 at 9:52 am

  6. Beautiful piece. Somehow it speaks to everyone who reads it in various ways. All it needs is a beat and a rhythm and we’ve got a hit love song. What say you sir?

    July 24, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    • Hehehehehehe.

      Thank you much! Hit song huh?

      July 24, 2012 at 9:38 pm

  7. yeah…what about all the ones said? when you got it, you got it! “Hi my name is……;
    new beginnings are always good too 🙂

    August 3, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    • Em…I’m gonna act like I understand what you said and say ‘Thank You’.

      August 4, 2012 at 9:50 am

  8. Pingback: For God (Small Thanks) | Seun Odukoya

  9. idyvalour

    wish I saw dis earlier .wud av posted it to het

    February 2, 2014 at 7:13 am

    • It’s never too late.

      Thank you!

      February 2, 2014 at 7:15 am

Leave a Reply

