Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

STRANGE II

Stuck in my head

And she made me so unhappy.

I was sitting in my office staring the Mac screen – actually miles away from there. MILES.

The AC was blowing at full strength; which was unusual. I usually let it blow at ‘cool’ but I felt anything but that so I turned it up to ‘freeze’. And even then it made little difference. I felt numb all over.

How lame. How pathetic.

Standing up from behind my desk I looked out of the window. Traffic was slow; it seemed as though the day was coming to an end. But it was taking its time. I saw a couple of okadas caught up in the Opebi Traffic light traffic jam – I saw the La Casera sellers and the gala boys scampering back and forth; catering to several and various ‘in-traffic’ people.

But I wasn’t paying attention.

My mind was caught up in the latest episode of the drama my life was rapidly becoming. It was just something annoying – a huge inconvenience as far as I was concerned. And I wonder who pushed me into it – like as though I was some kid who just discovered there were hair on his eggs.

I was not happy.

I kept pacing back and forth in front of the windows…scurrying around in my mind trying to figure out how to make my way out of this situation. It was just so…

My phone rang.

It startled me. I jumped about half a foot in the air before landing and swearing loudly. I so hated whoever it was who was calling without even bothering to check who it was first.

After I calmed down, I pulled out my phone. It was her.

I stood there holding the phone, staring at the screen incredulously as though willing it to stop ringing. It did after some moments – and then started ringing again. I wanted to smash the phone.

What was she trying to do – kill me after ruining my day? Could she not just leave me alone?!

I impatiently switched off the phone. I definitely did not want to have anything to do with her at that moment.

Sitting back behind my desk, I put my hands behind my head and tried to figure out what to do. Unfortunately, while I had gotten away with being drunk in the office the last time…I was so sure I was out of luck in that department. I just knew that I needed to get out of this mood – fast.

Suddenly my office door opened and my boss walked in – and then I noticed he was not alone.

“Come here and meet your new strategist,” he said.

It was a woman. Like none. I have ever seen.

I was in trouble.

4 responses

  1. Mardey

    I didnt get the transition from the part one to two. Was it d girl dat didnt no u in one dat was disturbing u here in two? Is she also ur gf?
    Why is miles in capital letter?
    I feel there is a gap btwn part 1 &2 wc u nid to feel me in

    May 18, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    • Yeah. There is a HUGE gap.

      I like to think of ‘Strange’ as ‘diary entries’ as opposed to an actual work of fiction.

      But don’t worry – if you get a third entry, I’ll redo everything and make it into a complete work.

      Thank you!

      May 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

  2. babyada

    Breathe in….
    Out!…

    A woman like none you’ve ever seen?

    You’re really in trouble.

    Great write-up.

    May 20, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

